Jolt to BJP in Punjab, MP bypolls

In bypolls, honours were shared in Punjab where the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal and Congress won one seat each. Out of the 18 seats in four states for which bypolls were held on August 21, the Congress and its allies won 10 while seven went to BJP and one to its ally SAD.

In Punjab, the prestigious Patiala (urban) constituency was won by Perneet Kaur. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) lost its deposit in Patiala (Urban). 

In Madhya Pradesh too, the BJP suffered a setback when the Congress wrested Bahoriband seat from it but the ruling party won two others. Sourabh Singh, who joined the Congress recently after quitting the BSP, won by a margin of 7977 votes in Bahoriband.

However, the BJP wrested Vijayraghavgarh from the Congress whose candidate and former Mayor Brajendra Mishra lost by 53,397 votes to BJP's Sanjay Pathak.Pathak won the 2013 polls from Vijaraghavgarh seat on a Congress ticket with a thin margin.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)