Saina, Sindhu enter quarters

Saina, Sindhu enter quarters

Saina, Sindhu enter quarters
India’s top shuttlers Saina Nehwal and P V Sindhu survived scares but eventually made their way into the women’s singles quarter-finals of the World Championships at the Ballerup Super Arena here on Thursday.

However, it was the end of the road for Kidambi Srikanth in men’s singles and Manu Attri and B Sumeet Reddy in men’s doubles, who lost their third round matches. 

Japanese 13th seed Sayaka Takahashi gave a tough fight to seventh-seeded Saina and was almost on her way to the last eight, before Saina found her legs just in time to recover from a game down and win the three-game, one hour and five minute marathon third round match 14-21, 21-18, 21-12.

It was an even more close and tougher affair for 11th seed Sindhu who had to play out of her skin to beat South Korean sixth seed Yeon Ju Bae 19-21, 22-20, 25-23.  The 19-year-old Indian saved three matchpoints and wasted five before she could finally seal the tie in her favour to notch up her first win against Yeon in three meetings.

Saina will be up against World No 1 and top seed Li Xuerui of China next.  Sindhu has an even tougher challenge lying ahead when she faces old foe and second seed Shixian Wang of China.

Attri and Reddy’s journey came to an end when they lost to South Korean second seeds Yong Dae Lee and Yeon Seong Yoo. The World No 1 pair needed only 37 minutes to move past the Indian combine 21-12, 21-17. World No 2 Chen Long needed only 36 minutes to beat Srikanth 21-12, 21-10.

Third round results: Men’s singles: Wang Zhengming (Chn) bt Wei Nan (HK) 21-15, 21-18; Viktor Axelsen (Den) bt Nguyen Tien Minh (Vie) 21-16, 21-17; Eric Pang (Ned) bt Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Tha) 19-21, 21-18, 21-16; Chen Long (Chn) bt K Srikanth (Ind) 21-12. 21-10. 

Women’s singles: Li Xuerui (Chn) bt Li Han (Chn) 21-9, 21-17; Saina Nehwal (Ind) bt Sayaka Takahashi (Jpn) 14-21, 21-18, 21-12; Tai Tzu-ying (Tpe) bt Michelle Li (Can) 21-16, 21-11; Sung Ji-hyun (Kor) bt Lindaweni Fanetri (Ina) 21-10, 21-16; Minatsu Mitani (Jpn) bt Ratchanok Intanon (Tha) 8-21, 21-12, 21-18; Wang Shixian (Chn) bt Vu Thi Trang (Vie) 21-12, 21-7; PV Sindhu (Ind) bt Yeon Ju Bae (S Korea) 19-21, 22-20, 25-23.