Delay in mayoral polls; corporators on tenterhooks

Delay in mayoral polls; corporators on tenterhooks

N M Rajeshwari Somu relinquished office as Mayor on September 4, but the calendar for fresh mayoral polls is yet to be announced. The delay in announcement of categories for reservation of the new mayor and deputy mayor has put the corporators on tenterhooks, especially in view of Dasara, scheduled to start on September 25.

During earlier years, the State Urban Development department was announcing the reservation for the coveted posts of the city corporation before the completion of tenure of the sitting mayor.

According to sources in the council section of the Mysore City Corporation (MCC), the announcement is expected in a day or two. It is only after that, the Regional Commissioner, who conducts the election as a returning officer, will be able to set the ball rolling for the elections. Till then, Rajeshwari will continue to be Mayor — as a temporary arrangement.

In the 65-member strong MCC, Congress has the highest number of 22 corporators, followed by 20 from Janata Dal (Secular) and 12 from BJP, seven independents, two from Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) and one each from BSR Congress and Karnataka Janata Party (KJP).

Besides the Corporators, other elected representatives like MP, MLAs and MLCs from the district (if they are residents of Mysore city) have the right to vote. Congress has three MLAs — Tanveer Sait, Vasu and M K Somashekar and one MLC R Dharmasena, JD(S) two MLCs — Sandesh Nagaraj and Marithibbegowda — and lone MLA in G T Devegowda, while the BJP has MLC Go Madhusudhan and MP Prathap Simha.

In the previous mayoral election, the JD(S) and BJP had joined hands to keep the single largest party, the Congress, at bay.

However, now, there could be a reverse swing — with the Congress wooing its traditional ally, the JD(S), to spike the chances of the BJP.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)