Bhatnagar award for 3 City scientists

Ten scientists, three of them from Bangalore, have been selected for the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award-2014, India’s prestigious science honour instituted by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).

The Bangalore-based researchers are Kavirayani Ramakrishna Prasad (chemical sciences) and Kaushal Kumar Verma (mathematics), both from Indian Institute of Science; and Sadiqali Abbas Rangwala (physical sciences) from Raman Research Institute. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh, a citation and a plaque.

Two Delhi-based scientists from Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology — Souvik Maiti and Anurag Agrawal — bagged the award in the fields of chemical sciences and medical sciences respectively, said a statement from CSIR.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)