Chawla, Srivastava lead UP charge

Chawla, Srivastava lead UP charge

Resuming at the overnight score of 25 for no loss, the visitors piled up 256 for nine with Praveen Gupta (17 batting) and Shalabh Srivastava (6 batting) at the crease at the North-East Frontier Railway Stadium.

Uttar Pradesh have already bagged the bonus point by virtue of their 64-run first innings lead and are more or less assured of a semifinal berth unless Assam batsmen come out with a miraculous display on the morrow.

Chawla, who cracked six fours, helped his team swell the lead while he was well supported Prakash Srivastava who made a 97-ball 42.

For Assam, Mali (4/76) and Dhiraj Goswami (4/56) shared eight wickets among them.

Quarterfinal brief scores:
At Guwahati: Uttar Pradesh: 213 and 256/9 in 95.0 overs (Tanmay Srivastava 49, Parvinder Singh 25, Rohit Prakash Srivastava 42, Piyush Chawla 53; Ranjitkumar Mali 4-76, Dhiraj Goswami 4-56) vs Assam: 149 all out.

At Delhi: Tamil Nadu: 463 all out vs Delhi (O/n: 69/2 in 27 overs): 294/4 in 116.1 overs (Aditya Jain 76, Mithun Manhas 76, Rajat Bhatia 67 n.o, Gaurav Chabra 32 n.o).
At Rohtak: Mumbai 400 and 119/3 in 31.1 overs (Sahil Kukreja 63 n.o., Rohit Sharma 51; Sanjay Budhwar 2-21) vs Haryana (O/n: 34/2 in 18 overs): 164 all out in 73.3 overs (Rahul Dewan 71; Dhawal Kulkarni 2-26, Usman Malvi 2-28, Ramesh Powar 4-42, Iqbal Abdulla 2-4).