Parties gear up for bypolls in Delhi

Parties gear up for bypolls in Delhi

Both the BJP and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) are projecting the bypolls in three of constituencies, announced by the Election Commission (EC) on Saturday, as a test of their popularity ahead of the now increasingly likely fresh elections for Delhi Assembly.

The bypolls to the Assembly seats will be held on November 25, and the counting will take place on December 23.

Vacant seats

The seats fell vacant when three BJP legislators—Harsh Vardhan (Krishna Nagar), Ramesh Bidhuri (Tughlakabad) and Parvesh Verma (Mehrauli)—were elected to the Lok Sabha in May.

While the Delhi Assembly remains in suspended animation since February 17, the bypolls had to be called within six months of the seats falling vacant. As a Union Territory, the capital can stay under President’s Rule for one year.

The poll panel’s announcement comes just three days before a Supreme Court hearing on an AAP petition on government formation in Delhi.