Poorva wins 200M breaststroke gold

Poorva wins 200M breaststroke gold

Aquatics Inter-university meet

Poorva wins 200M breaststroke gold

The All India Inter-University Aquatic Championships got off to a grand fashion with host Jain University’s Poorva Shetye clinching the gold medal in the 200 metres breaststroke here on Sunday.

Poorva, who had represented the country at the 2010 Commonwealth Games, won the yellow metal in convincing style, clocking 2:53.56 in the final, well ahead of Delhi University’s Priyanka, who finished in 2:58.11. Divya Guruswamy of VTU, Belgaum, won the bronze in 3:00.25.

The day saw two new meet records being set with Jyotsna Pansare of the University of Mumbai and Punjab University’s men’s 4x100M medley relay team rewriting old marks. Jyotsna retained the 50M butterfly gold, clocking 29.24 seconds to overhaul her own previous mark of 29.97 seconds.

Meenakshi VKR of Jain University gave Jyotsna a stiff challenge but her best was not enough to stop the resilient Mumbaikar. Meenakshi claimed silver in 30.27 seconds while Delhi University’s Divya Satija won the bronze in 31.19 seconds.

In the men’s 4x100M medley relay, Punjab University pocketing the gold medal by clocking 4:10.64, sinking the mark of 4:16.29 set by the Delhi University in 2008.VTU Belgaum settled for the silver medal in 4:12.56 while Madras University finished a far-away third with 4:18.23 to their name.

Results: Men: 50M butterfly: Aman Ghai (Guru Nanak Dev) 26.57 seconds, 1; Bobby Rana (DEL) 26.68, 2; Rakshith Shetty (Jain) 26.75, 3.

200M breaststroke: Jashandeep Singh (PUN) 2:24.91, 1; Pulkit (Devi Lal) 2:28.39, 2; Arvind M (VTU) 2:31.23, 3. 200M backstroke: Arvind M (VTU) 2:12.31, 1; Abbasuddin K (Anna) 2:17.14, 2; Prem Kumar (MAS) 2:20.98, 3; Sanjay Raj (VNS) 2:20.98, 3. 4x100M medley: Punjab 4:10.64 (NMR. Old: 4:16.29, Delhi University, 2008), 1; VTU 4:12.56, 2; Madras 4:18.23, 3.

Women: 50M butterfly: Jyotsna Pansare (MUN) 29.24 seconds (NMR. Old: 29.24, Jyotsna, 2014), 1; Meenakshi VKR (Jain) 30.27, 2; Divya Satija (DEL) 31.19, 3. 200M breaststroke: Poorva Shetye (Jain) 2:53.56, 1; Priyanka (DEL) 2:58.11, 2; Divya Guruswamy (VTU) 3:00.25, 3. 200M backstroke: Ananya Panigrahi (MUHSC) 2:40.60, 1; Ruhaab Khan (DEL) 2:41.65, 2; Pratima Kollali (BAN) 2:42.34, 3. 4x100M medley relay: Delhi 4:58.74, 1; Jain 5:01.01, 2; Calicut 5:10.01, 3.