Meenakshi shines again

Meenakshi shines again

Hosts' swimmer bags two gold, breaks 100 free record

Meenakshi shines again

Meenakshi VKR was at her dominant best as she added two more gold medals to her personal tally in the Inter-University Aquatics Championship at the Jain University’s Aquatic Centre here on Tuesday.

The 18-year-old Jain University swimmer won the women’s 50M backstroke and 100M freestyle in record time as the hosts inched close towards reclaiming the women’s title that they won at the 2012 Kolkata meet.

Meenakshi dominated the 100M freestyle as she clinched the gold in 1:06.32, breaking the three-year-old meet record of 1:06.47 set by Pooja Alva of VTU, Blegaum, in 2011. Divya Satija finished a second in 1:09.18 while Sneha T of RGUHS, Bangalore, claimed the third spot after clocking 1:10.04.

In the 50M backstroke, Meenakshi touched the pad in 31.66 seconds, overhauling Shikha Tandon’s long-standing record of 32.40 seconds, set in 2008. Rawoof Gulnaz of the University of Madras won the silver medal with a swim of 33.81 seconds while Ananya Panigrahi of MUHSC, Nashik, completed the top three in 34.46.

The men’s section also witnessed some close encounters with another Indian international, Aman Ghai, continuing his good work as he raced his way to win the 100M freestyle in a convincing manner.

 Leading Guru Nanak Dev University’s charge, the Amritsar-based swimmer finished the race in 57.37 seconds, a second ahead of the silver medal winning Bobby Rana of the University of Delhi who finished in 58.78 seconds. Karan Brar claimed the bronze medal with 59.17 seconds to his name.

Meanwhile, the 400M freestyle saw Mumbai University’s Saurab Sagvekar win a comfortable gold with 4:04.59 to his name. Sanjay Raj from VNSG, Gujarat, finished second in 4:18.09, while Madras University’s Yugesh Kumar saw the bronze medal fall around his neck as he finished in 4:21.63 seconds.

Results: Men: 50M backstroke: Arvind M (VTU) 27.90 seconds, 1; Shreyas S (Anna) 28.97, 2; Sachet Engineer (DY Patil) and Rakshit Shetty (Jain) 29.39, 3.100M freestyle: Aman Ghai (Guru Nanak Dev) 57.37, 1; Bobby Rana (Del) 58.79, 2; Karan Brar (Pun) 59.17, 3.

400M freestyle: Saurab Sagvekar (Mun) 4:04.59, 1; Sanjay Raj (VNSG) 4:18.09, 2; Yugesh Kumar (MAS) 4:21.63, 3.

4x200M freestyle relay: VTU, Belgaum (8:44.23) 1; Kerala University (8:51.84) 2; Punjab University (8:52.86) 3.

Women: 50M backstroke: Meenakshi VKR (Jain) 31.66, 1; Rawoof Gulnaz (MAS) 33.81, 2; Ananya Panigrahi (MUHSC) 34.46, 3.

100M freestyle: Meenakshi VKR (Jain) 1:06.32, 1; Divya Satija (Del) 1:09.18, 2; Sneha T (RGUHS) 1:10.04, 3.

400M freestyle: Sneha T (RGUHS) 4:48.97, 1; Pratima Kollali (Ban) 4:51.34, 2; Poorva Shetye (Jain) 4:52.10, 3.

4x200M freestyle relay: University of Delhi (9:49.56) 1; Calicut University (9:52.25) 2; Kerala University (9:57.02) 3.

Diving: Men: 3M spring board: Ajay B (BHA) 243.40, 1; Gaurav Rahuwanshi (DAVV) 222.75, 2; Atharu Agarwal (RGPV) 208.95, 3.

Women: Divya Teja (VTU) 156.45, 1; Swati Vidap (SOL) 146.35, 2; Dhara Tanuka (CAL) 144.05, 3.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox