State awaits prez nod for bill on mandatory rural stint for medicos

State awaits prez nod for bill on mandatory rural stint for medicos

State awaits prez nod for bill on mandatory rural stint for medicos

 Minister of State for Medical Education Sharanprakash Patil on Tuesday said the State government was in constant touch with the Centre to get the President’s nod for a bill that makes it mandatory for one-year rural service for medical students.

Speaking to reporters in Bangalore, Patil expressed confidence that the Karnataka Compulsory Service Training by Candidates Completed Medical Course Bill, which was passed by both Houses of the Legislature in 2012, will get presidential assent within two months. “Secretary-level talks are on... the bill has been cleared by the Health Ministry and the Human Resource Development Ministry. Clearance is soon expected from the Law and Home Ministry, following which the bill will get presidential assent,” Patil said.

The provision of the bill makes it mandatory for medical graduates to serve in rural areas for one year. They will be given their certificates only if they complete the rural stint.The minister pointed out that 6,000 MBBS doctors passed out every year in the State.

 “There are around 3,000 government-run hospitals, including community health centres. Once the bill get assent, all fresh medical graduates will have to serve in these hospitals. It will go a long way in making up for the present shortage of doctors,” Patil said.

Substantial pay hike

On the ongoing government doctors imbroglio, Patil said the State government will offer them a “substantial pay hike.”

The minister said the State government will table the Karnataka Professional Educational Institutions (Regulation of Admission and Fixation of Fee) Amendment Bill, 2006, which will regulate the fee and seats in unaided private professional colleges, in the winter session of the Legislature.

He said the Medical Council of India was likely to give its nod for six new government medical colleges at Gulbarga, Koppal, Chamarajanagar, Karwar, Madikeri and Gadag from next academic year.