Arvind, Meenakshi on song on penultimate day

Arvind, Meenakshi on song on penultimate day

 Arvind M of VTU, Blegaum, and Meenakshi VKR of host’s Jain University continued to sparkle as the duo went on to add more medals to their personal tally in the Inter-University Aquatic Championship here on Wednesday.

Arvind, who has represented India at the Youth Asian Games, won the men’s 200M individual medley in dominant fashion as he finished in 2:11.88, a comfortable five seconds ahead of Delhi University’s Pulkit, who won the silver in 2:16.23. 

Punjab University’s Jashandeep Singh won the bronze after clocking 2:16.48.The 100M backstroke also saw VTU’s lead act win the race in a thumping manner. The swimmer won the yellow metal in 59.75 seconds with Anna University’s Abbasuddin K finishing second in 1:03.21 and Jain’s Rakshith Shetty completing the podium in 1:04.35.

In the women’s section, local favourite Meenakshi continued her dominance as she pocketed gold in the 200M individual medley and the 100M backstroke, which also saw her break a three-year-old meet record.

Meenakshi won the medley in facile manner, touching the pad in 2:31.55, a solid nine seconds ahead of her team-mate Poorva Shetye (2:40.40). Srishti Nag of Bilaspur University won the bronze in 2:42.19.

The 18-year-old Meenakshi’s march to victory in the 100M backstroke was nothing less than brilliant, as her timing of 1:07.95 meant a fifth straight record for the Bangalore girl. She broke the three-year-old record set by Shikha Tandon of Bangalore University in the year 2011. 

The men’s 4x100M freestyle relay also saw a new record been set. 

The boys from the University of Punjab rewrote their mark set earlier this year with a performance of 4:25.02, a second better than their previous best. Kerala University took the silver clocking 4:26.20 while Calicut University took the bronze in 4:32.81.

Earlier in the day, Neil Contractor of Gujarat University won the men’s 50M freestyle. Neil went on top of the podium with a 24.81-second swim while Guru Nank Dev’s Aman Ghai missed the gold by a fraction as he finished in 24.93. Devi Lal’s Pulikt had to settle for the bronze as he finished with 25.14 seconds.

Results: Men: 50M freestyle: Neil Contractor (GUJ) 24.81 seconds, 1; Amamn Ghai (Guru Nanak Dev) 24.93, 2; Pulkit (Devi Lal) 25.14, 3.

100M backstroke: Arvind M (VTU) 59.75, 1; Abbasuddin K (Anna) 1:03.21, 2; Rakshith Shetty (Jain) 1:04.35, 3.

200M individual medley: Arvind M (VTU) 2:11.88, 1; Pulkit (Devi Lal) 2:16.23, 2; Jashandeep Singh (PUN) 2:16.48, 3.

4x100M freestyle relay: Punjab (3:47.10) 1; Madras (3:50.68) 2; VTU (3:51.87) 3. Women: 50M freestyle: Sneha T (RGUHS) 28.82, 1; Meenakshi VKR (Jain) 29.25, 2; Anjali Nair (DEL) 29.66, 3.

100M backstroke: Meenakshi VKR (Jain) 1:07.95, 1; Rawoog Gulnaz (MAS) 1:12.60, 2; Ananya Panigrahi (MUHSC) 1:13.88, 3.

200M individual medley: Meenakshi VKR (Jain) 2:31.55, 1; Poorva Shetye (Jain) 2:40.40, 2; Srishti Nag (BIL) 2:42.19, 3.

4x100M freestyle relay: Delhi (4:25.02) 1; Kerala (4:26.20) 2; Calicut (4:32.81) 3.

Diving: Men: 1M spring board: Gaurav Raghuwanshi (DAVV) 238.10, 1; Athrav Agrawal (RGPV) 205.85, 2; Indarjeet Shinde (DY Patil) 187.50, 3.

Women: 1M spring board: Susmeeta Vasta (GOA) 146.55, 1; Nammi Theja (VTU) 138.20, 2; Khushboo (DEL) 126.5.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox