Three new trains flagged off from Yeshwantpur

Last Updated 01 November 2014, 18:58 IST

To mark Karnataka  Rajyotsava, Railway Minister D V Sadananda Gowda on Saturday flagged off three new trains from Yeshwantpur, announced in the budget this year. Ananth Kumar, Union Minister for Chemicals and Fertilisers, was present on the occasion.

Among the services that were launched are two passenger trains to Nelamangala and Hosur. The Bangalore City-Tumkur train will ply everyday.

A total of eight trains are to be started across the State, out of which six were flagged off on Saturday, while two will be flagged off later this week from other locations.

In his speech, Gowda said, “Many people will benefit from these train services.”
Addressing mediapersons later, Gowda said that there were many projects planned for the State, one of which is the electrification of the entire South Western Railways.” He said that already about 80 per cent of the work has been completed in this regard. “Soon we will be able to complete it,” the minister said.

He said that by 2016, new routes will be added. He said, “The Bangalore-Hassan-Mangalore line which is much awaited has already been allotted funds in the budget and should be completed soon.”

To keep the railway stations clean, he said that the prime minister’s Swachh Bharat Abhiyaan needs to be followed. “People should consider the trains their second home and make an attempt not to dirty it,” he said.

The new trains
*The Yeshwantpur-Nelamangala train departs at 7.30 am and reaches at 8.15 am. In the return direction, it leaves Nelamangala at 8.45 am and reaches Yeshwantpur at 9.40 am.
*The Yeshwantpur-Hosur train departs at 2.55 pm and reaches Hosur at 4.30 pm. In the return direction, it leaves Hosur at 5.50 pm and reaches Yeshwantpur at 7.20 pm.
*The Bangalore City-Tum­kur train leaves Bangalore at 5.30 am and reaches Tumkur at 6.50 am. In the return direction, the train leaves Tumkur at 8.15 am and reaches Bangalore City at 9.50 am.
*The Chamarajanagar-Bangalore train leaves at 6.55 pm and reaches Bangalore at 12 pm. In the return direction, it starts from Bangalore at 3.30 pm and reaches Chamarajanagar at 8.30 pm.
*The Hubli-Lokmanya Tilak Terminus train leaves Hubli at 10.30 pm on Saturdays and reaches Lokmanya Tilak Terminus, Mumbai at 4.55 pm on Sundays. In the return direction, it leaves LTT on Sundays at 9.15 pm and reaches Hubli on Mondays at 5.35 pm.
*The Hubli-Belgaum train leaves at 6 pm and reaches Belgaum at 9.30 pm. In the return direction, the train leaves Belgaum at 6 am and reaches Hubli at 9.50 am.
*The Chikmagalur-Yeshwantpur train leaves at 7.30 am and reaches Yeshwantpur at 2.15 pm. In the return direction, it leaves Yeshwantpur at 3.15 pm and reaches Chikmagalur at 10.20 pm.
*The intercity train between Harihar and Yeshwantpur is scheduled to be tri-weekly.

(Published 01 November 2014, 18:58 IST)

Follow us on