State NSS bags lion's share of IGNSS awards

For the first time ever, the State’s National Service Scheme (NSS) has bagged the highest number of Indira Gandhi National Service Awards (IGNSS) this year.

Minister for Youth Services K Abhay Chandra Jain said on Tuesday: “Seven IGNSS awards have been conferred to dedicated NSS programme co-ordinators, Programme Officers and volunteers.

About 45 awards are given away across the country every year by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. Karnataka has bagged the lion’s share of the awards.”

President Pranab Mukherjee would present the awards in New Delhi, on Wednesday, Indira Gandhi’s birth anniversary.

“The Best Programme Coordinator award carries Rs two lakh in cash, a certificate and a gold medal; while the Best Programme Officers and Best volunteers awardees will receive Rs 50,000 and Rs 15,000 respectively, silver medals and certificates. The Directorate of Technical Education (DTE), Bengaluru, has also received the Best University of India award,” said NSS Regional Head, A N Pujar.

“There are over three lakh NSS workers in Karnataka and the State government releases Rs 50 lakh every year for the NSS scheme,” added Pujar.

This year’s awardees are Programme Coordinator of DTE, Umapathi; Programme Officers of Seshadripuram College, Prathap Lingaiah; of PC Jabin Science College, Hubballi, Dr PP Samorekar; of Govt College for Women, Mandya, K B Narayana; volunteers Babagouda C Geedigoudra, Belagavi; Umeshgouda S Patil, College of Horticulture and Yogeshwari, Mysuru.

Comments (+)