Panel will probe House violence, says Speaker

Making the announcement while addressing reporters after taking part in public felicitation for him at Cauvery Kalakshetra here on Friday, Speaker Bopaiah said the committee has been asked to submit a report within the next 15 days.

The inquiry committee includes MLAs D Hemachandra Sagar, A Narayanaswamy, Subhash Guttedar, Baburao Chinchansur and Shrikant Kulkarni, Bopaiah said, adding that action would be taken on the committee’s report.

Six members had complained that by the MLAs responsible for the incident had violated the code of conduct in the House. “Such an incident is unprecedented,” Bopaiah said  quoting a former Speaker.

No pressure
Bopaiah said there is no truth in the allegation of the Opposition members that the Assembly session was postponed for an indefinite period owing to pressure from the government.

“The mike on the Chair of the Speaker was thrown down during the recent incident. The furniture near the secretary’s seat has been damaged. They cannot be repaired overnight. It requires at least a week. The session was postponed only for this reason,” he said.

Regarding the statement of H D Revanna who said that he would not accept Bopaiah as Speaker until Governor endorses the electoral process, Bopaiah strongly reacted that “it should be answered by those who have met the Governor.”

“The election of the Speaker was held as per the Assembly bye-laws. Being Speaker, I can’t comment on this. It is left to him (Revanna) whether to accept me as Speaker or not,” he said.

Asked what if the JD(S) members continue their non-cooperation in the future, Bopaiah said he would request all MLAs to cooperate by forgetting all bitter memories.

“Parties are not important here. The rules were formed by all 224 MLAs and not by a singe MLA. It is my responsibility to follow the rules. Or else what will the people say tomorrow?” he asked.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)