E-ricks get list of 'no-plying zones'

Order paves way for their return

Paving the way for return of e-rickshaws, the Transport Department has come out with a list of 236 locations where “plying and idle parking” of e-rickshaws is banned.

The move comes as an attempt to regulate the movement of e-rickshaws in the city.

The e-rickshaws had gone off road after the Delhi High Court banned plying of these vehicles on safety concerns. Following which, the central government last week had approved draft amendments to the Motor Vehicle Act in order to the battery-operated vehicles a ‘legal’ status.

Banned list

With as many as 77 roads in the ‘banned’ list, the government has virtually declared New Delhi district as no plying zone for the e-rickshaws. 

The notification has listed out popular locations like inner and outer circle of Connaught Place, Janpath, Barakhamba Road, Tolstoy Marg and Mandir Marg. But the Transport Department lists out very few restricted areas in east, northeast, north, west and northwest districts.

Public safety

“It is necessary in the interest of public safety and convenience of general public of National Capital Territory of Delhi to regulate the movement of e-rickshaws on the Delhi/New Delhi roads,” the notification issued by the Transport Department said.

In east, west and northeast districts, only nine routes each have been banned.In east Delhi, the government banned e-rickshaw entry on Vikas Marg, UP Link Road, Shakarpur Chowk to Mother Dairy Road. 

Similarly, busy routes in northeast district likes Pusta Road, GT Road and Loni Road are been declared banned zones.

The west district e-rickshaws have limited the ban to busy routes like Jail road, Outer Ring Road, Pyal Cinema Road and Mayapuri road.

But it may not be an easy-going for the e-rickshaws in south, southeast and central districts, with ban on 39, 23 and 19 routes respectively.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0