Kejriwal to contest for New Delhi seat

AAP chief and former Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal will contest from his New Delhi constituency, the party said on Wednesday, as it announced the list of eight more candidates.

Kejriwal, who surprised many by defeating the three-time chief minister Sheila Dikshit in her own turf by a huge margin of 25,864 votes, in the December 2013 Assembly elections, figured in the fifth list of candidates announced by the Aam Aadmi Party.
According to the party’s initial plan, Kejriwal’s name was to be announced at the end after all candidates formally proposed him for the future chief ministerial post.

“The BJP and the Congress were trying to spread rumours that Kejriwal is likely to change his seat,” said an AAP leader, claiming that any further delay would have fuelled more rumour-mongering.

The AAP has also given ticket to former deputy Speaker of Delhi Legislative Assembly Fateh Singh from Gokulpuri Assembly constituency. Singh had quit BJP before joining the AAP last week.

AAP has nominated independent councillor from South Delhi Naresh Balyan from Uttam Nagar.

The party has also fielded  new faces like Rajendra Dabas from Mundka, SD Sharma from Ghonda, Amanatullah Khan from Okhla, Rajendra Gautam from Seemapuri and Kailash Gehlot from Najafgarh.  The AAP has so far declared its 59 candidates for the 70-member Assembly.

Threatens to move court

The Aam Aadmi Party on Wednesday threatened to move court if the case related to alleged poaching of an AAP legislator by the then BJP Vice President Sher Singh Dagar is not properly investigated.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0