Jangpura awaits 'saviour' to work on infrastucture

Jangpura awaits 'saviour' to work on infrastucture

Lack of adequate parking at markets is a major issue

Rajendar calls himself a “hardcore Congress supporter”. He will, however, cast his vote for ‘jhadu’ and ditch the ‘hand’ symbol on February 7. He has logic backing his words.

“I would still like to call myself a Congress loyalist. (Tarvinder Singh) Marwah is a known face in the constituency. He comes to our aid when we need help at a personal level. The local seat should go to Marwah but I want to see Kejriwal as Delhi’s chief minister,” says the resident of Sidharth Basti.
The Aam Aadmi Party chief is the “saviour of Delhi”, he added.

In Jangpura constituency, the AAP has fielded Praveen Kumar against three-time MLA Tarvinder Singh Marwah from the Congress and BJP candidate M S Dhir.

In 2013 Delhi Assembly elections, Dhir fought from an AAP ticket and defeated Marwah by a margin of 1,744 votes. 

There was a total of 1,29,011 electorates last time in this constituency.
Dhir is more confident about winning the elections this term.

Fighting the seat from a debut party was more “challenging” and this time the contest would be easier after being fielded from a party with “Modiji” as its face, he said in an interview to Deccan Herald last week.

Despite losing the elections, Marwah thinks that public support for him is still “unwavering”.
“People are already acquainted with the work that I have done in the constituency,” says Marwah.
The current AAP candidate Kumar declared himself as a “social worker” and his fight is against corruption, he said.

Cutting across different financial backgrounds, the constituency covers Bhogal, Sunder Nagar, Sidharth Basti, Jangpura, Lajpat Nagar I & II Sarai Kale Khan, Daryaganj and Nizamuddin Basti among other areas.

Haphazard parking on the road, landfills, sewer lines, tehbazari are the major issues in the constituency.

Residents also complain that few major projects have been taken up by past elected representatives in the area.

Parking outside the major markets in Jangpura constituency has been a major issue for many years now.

“Parking has been a major issue in this constituency. Business for traders is often hit in the major markets here because customers go away without finding a space to park their cars. The worst hit are Sunder Nagar Market and Central Market. The parking outside these two markets is always in a mess. No project has been undertaken till date to resolve the problem,” said Sanjeev Mehra.

Mehra, who will vote from the Jangpura constituency, is also the president of Khan Market Traders Association.

Another issue which persists in the area is the tehbazari outside the markets which leaves almost no space for pedestrians.

“Bhogal bears the worst brunt of these tehbazaris. There were plans to rehabilitate these tehbazaris in a designated building. But no such project took off,” said Mehra.
Garbage dumps

Even in the posher parts of the constituency, there are eyesores like open garbage dumps.
One such dumpyard is right outside the Jangpura Metro station, which speaks of the neglect of the constituency. Also, there is a lack of adequate streetlights.

“Try taking a walk around the posh blocks of Jangpura at night. There are only few streetlights with safety always at stake,” said a woman in her mid 20s.

Residents of Nizamuddin Basti, Sarai Kale Khan, Sidharth Basti said they are grappling with problems like open sewer lines, electricity problems and safety of women.

There are small interaction sessions in the evening when the residents get together to decide who “will be the right candidate”.

“The BJP government is not for the poor. At least, electricity bills will come down once Kejriwal comes to power,” Kamlesh Kumar, a Bhogal resident, said.

A few believe it is pardonable even if Kejriwal deceives them for a second term.

“I did not vote for Kejriwal the last time. It was a big mistake. Even though he quit the government, he alone deserves support,” said Mohammed Uzair, a dweller of Nizamuddin Basti.
There are 10 other members at home who will also vote for the AAP, he added.
DH News Service