Gritty Dutee races to gold

Gritty Dutee races to gold

National Games: Odisha athlete wins women's 100M; Dharambir takes men's title

Gritty Dutee races to gold

 Was it a race to prove a point to her detractors or a sprint to escape from the painful memories of her recent past?

One wouldn’t know and she wouldn’t tell but one thing was clear – Dutee Chand wanted to do what she knows best in the best possible manner – running fast out on the track.

On the third day of athletics competitions at the 35th National Games, the Odisha athlete, who has a cloud of doubt hanging over her head, kept the worries aside to blitz the women’s 100M field, winning the gold medal to dispel the gloom, at least temporarily.

If she was running on borrowed time, it was hardly apparent. It wasn’t the smoothest of races. After two earlier rounds, it was evident that Dutee was running on the wings of determination that bordered on desperation. Against such a force, her rivals stood little chance.

After a good start, Dutee seemed to struggle a bit before gathering herself together to power ahead. Kerala’s V Santhini and Maharashtra’s Rashmi Sherigar, who had set a meet record of 11.70 in the semifinals, tried to catch up but couldn’t come close.

Pounding down the track against a headwind of -1.2 m/s, Dutee blazed home in 11.76 seconds. Santhini was well back in 11.84 and Rashmi, in bronze medal position, was a further three hundredths of a second behind.

“I didn’t do as well as I expected to, but considering the training time I had and the races I ran here, it is okay. I am relieved as well as happy,” said Dutee, whose hearing challenging the IAAF rules on hyperandrogenism will come up for hearing next month.

Her suspension itself has been lifted temporarily by the Court of Arbitration for Sport, allowing her to compete in domestic meets, but Dutee said she was focused on giving her best here, and little else.

“The chance I missed at the Commonwealth Games, I want to make up for that, and also win a gold for Odisha. My coach said run like it is your last race and that is what I did. And with all your blessings and prayers, I will win at CAS too,” she said.

Dharambir of Haryana, returning from a two-year doping ban, won the men’s 100M in a personal best of 10.46seconds, erasing Anil Kumar’s Games record of 10.52 set in 2011. Just prior to his suspension, Dharambir had been pulled up by the Athletics Federation of India for evading a dope test at the Inter-State meet in Hyderabad in 2012.

Dharambir left the field way behind. Amiya Kumar Mallick of Odisha won the silver in 10.64 and Krishna Kumar Rane of Maharashtra the bronze in 10.65. Arokia Rajiv and Anilda

Thomas were convincing winners in the men’s and women’s 400M races. Services’Arokia Rajiv bettered Paramjit Singh’s Games record of 46.97 with a 46.40 burst while Kerala’s Anilda equalled K M Beenamol’s record of 52.71.

Kerala’s Neena V upstaged the fancied M A Prajusha in the women’s long jump. Neena’s career-best of 6.39 metres was 14 centimetres better than Prajusha’s best on the day.
Three other Games records were rewritten on the day – in women’s pole vault, javelin throw and 20km walk.


Men: 100M: Dharambir (Haryana) 10.46 seconds (NMR. Old: 10.52,Anil Kumar, 2001), 1; Amiya Kumar Mallick (Odisha) 10.64, 2; Krishna Kumar Rane (Maharashtra) 10.65, 3.

400M: Arokia Rajiv (Services) 46.40 seconds (NMR. Old: 46.97, Paramjit Singh, 1997), 1; Lalit Mathur (Haryana) 47.04, 2; Chandan Bauri (Bengal) 47.41, 3.

1500M: Ravinder Singh (Uttarakhand) 3:51.96, 1; Sajeesh Joseph (Kerala) 3:52.08, 2; Sandeep (Haryana) 3:52.25, 3.

Discus throw: Dharamraj (Services) 57.44 metres, 1; Arjun (Haryana) 56.85, 2; Baljinder Singh (Punjab) 52.40, 3.

20km walk: Baljinder Singh (Punjab) 1:26:24.20, 1; Chandan Singh (Services) 1:26:29.60, 2; Gurmeet Singh (Uttarakhand) 1:27:44.40, 3.

Women: 100M: Dutee Chand (Odisha) 11.76 seconds, 1; Santhini V (Kerala) 11.84, 2; Rashmi Sheregar (Maharashtra) 11.87, 3.

400M: Anilda Thomas (Kerala) 52.71, 1; Anu Raghavan (Kerala) 54.38, 2; Nirmala Sheoran (Haryana) 55.19, 3.

Long jump: Neena V (Kerala) 6.39 metres, 1; Prajusha M A (Kerala) 6.25, 2; Bhumika Thakur (Punjab) 6.23, 3.

Pole vault: V S Sureka (Tamil Nadu) 4.00M (NMR. Old: 3.85, Surekha, 2007), 1; Dija K C (Kerala) 3.60, 2; Sinju Prakash (Kerala) 3.40, 3.

Javelin: Suman Devi (Uttar Pradesh) 56.53 (NMR. Old: 53.30, Gurmeet Kaur, 2002), 1; Annu Rani (Uttar Pradesh) 53.84, 2; Rupinder Kaur (Punjab) 51.27, 3.

20km walk: Sapna (Rajasthan) 1:40:35.70 (NMR. Old: 1:41:08.00, Deepmala Devi, 2007), 1; Rani Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 1:43:48.80, 2; Priyanka (Uttar Pradesh) 1:46:09.00, 3.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)