Govt allots 38 coal mines to central, state PSU firms

Govt allots 38 coal mines to central, state PSU firms

 The Centre on Tuesday allotted 38 mines to central and state public sector units.

As per the original plan, the government had to allot 43 mines but it came out with the list of only 38 mines as there were no applications for some coal blocks, officials said.

All the blocks allotted are for the power sector, barring one Sitanala mine given to SAIL. Most of the blocks among 38 have gone to the earlier allottees. As per the government list, out of the 38 blocks, a maximum of 8 blocks — Barjora, Barjora (North), Gangaramchak and Gangaramchak Bhadulia, Tara East and Tara West, Pachwara North and Kasta East — have been bagged by the West Bengal Power Development Corporation. Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd has been given six blocks — Baranj I, II, III and IV and Manora Deep and Kiloni.

NTPC bagged five mines including Chhatti Bariatu, Chatti Bariatu (South), Kerandari, Talaipalli and Dulanga. Damodar Valley Corporation has been allotted the Khagra Joydev block.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)