Warner blitz powers SRH to 192/7 vs CSK

Warner blitz powers SRH to 192/7 vs CSK

Riding on skipper David Warner's whirlwind fifty, SunRisers Hyderabad posted a mammoth 192 for seven against Chennai Super Kings in the IPL cricket match at the Uppal, here today.

Put into bat, Warner (28-ball 61) and Shikhar Dhawan (37) stitched an 86-run opening stand to lay a solid foundation for a big SRH total.

Warner (378 runs from 8 games) struck from the word go as the left-handed opener hit 11 fours and a six to register his 5th half-century of the tournament and get the orange cap from Rajasthan Royals' Ajinkya Rahane (339 from 9 matches).

Off-spinner Suresh Raina (1-29) though applied the brakes after getting the dangerous Australian batsman back in the hut as Warner mistimed a pull to deep backward square-leg.

New batsman Moises Henriques (9-ball 19) got a few lusty hits right away but his stay was short-lived after left-arm spinner Pawan Negi (1-20) got him stumped on the last ball of the 10th over.

Dhawan did try to bring the innings back on track with Eoin Morgan (32 not out) getting a few good strikes to the fence but the left-handed opener's run out once again put SRH on the backfoot.

But a 'light' interruption -- one of the floodlight towers went off -- at the start of the 15th over delayed proceedings as players cooled their heels in their respective dug outs.
After the break, CSK bowlers tried to keep the run-rate in check and limit the SRH scoring in the final five overs but Morgan had other ideas.

Purple Cap holder Ashish Nehra (1-31) though did clean up the dangerous-looking Naman Ojha (20) in the 17th over but Morgan did well to hit a four and 2 sixes in his 27-ball cameo.

Medium-pacer Mohit Sharma (0-58), who opened the attack for CSK, was expensive in his quota of overs and especially came in at the wrong end of the stick when Morgan got SRH 15 runs in the penultimate over.

The England batsman though did get a reprieve when Brendon McCullum dropped a skier on the fifth ball of the 19th over.

And even after Dwayne Bravo (3-25) got two wickets in the final over and ended the innings with Karn Sharma's (4) scalp, SRH had managed 49 runs in the last 30 deliveries.

SRH: David Warner (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Naman Ojha, Hanuma Vihari, Eoin Morgan, Moises Henriques, Ashish Reddy, Karn Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Trent Boult.

CSK: Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Smith, Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Pawan Negi, Mohit Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Ronit More.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0