GP polls: 13.92 lakh voters in 1,849 constituencies

8,424 officials to be deputed on poll duty in Mysuru district

Following the announcement by the State Election Commission (SEC) to conduct Grama Panchayat polls in two phases — May 29 and June 2 in the State — the District Administration has launched preparations in this regard. In Mysuru district, elections will be conducted in the first phase.

According to a press release from the office of the Deputy Commissioner, also the district electoral officer (DEO), C Shikha, elections will be conducted for 266 Grama Panchayats. A total of 4,744 members shall be elected from 1,849 constituencies. Among the total members to be elected, a highest of 2,443 will be women against 2,301 members from general category. In all, 13.92 lakh voters will hold the key, including 6.82 lakh women and 7.10 lakh men.

Of the total 266 GPs, a highest of 45 is in Nanjangud taluk against the lowest 34 at both K R Nagar and Periyapatna. Hunsur taluk has 41 panchayats, H D Kote-39, Mysuru-37 and T Narsipur-36.

Constituencies-wise Mysuru tops at 336 for which 464 candidates from general category and 483 women have to be elected. It is closely followed by Nanjangud with 323 constituencies for which 418 candidates from general and 439 women have to be elected.

H D Kote has 274 constituencies, to which 297 seats are reserved for general category and 318 for women. Hunsur has 241 constituencies, for which 286 candidates from general category and 310 women have to be elected. K R Nagar has 226 constituencies, to which 271 candidates from general category and 291 from women have to be elected. Periyapatna has 218 constituencies, to which 271 candidates from general category and 291 women have to be elected.

Among the total number of seats, SC and SC (woman), ST and ST (woman), backward classes (A) and BCA (woman), BCB and BCB (woman) and general and general (woman) are included.

A total of 1,848 polling booths will be set up, along with 66 auxiliary booths taking the total booths to 1,914. In all 2,106 presiding officers will be appointed for the booths, followed by 6,318 first, second, third and fourth polling officers taking the total number of officials on election duty to 8,424.

A presiding officer — supported by three polling officers — will be appointed for each of the booths. In the case of 1,000 and odd voters, four candidates shall be elected and equal number of polling booths will be set up and managed by an equal number of polling officers.

The presiding officers and first polling officers will be trained at their respective taluk headquarters and deputed to a different place against their native and current posting.
Nodal officers have been appointed for smooth functioning of poll duties, with the respective assistant commissioners tasked with the supervision of the same. A taluk-level official has been appointed to enforce the model code of conduct in five to six GPs, while the respective panchayat development officer (PDO) will assist the taluk-level official in implementing the law.

Telephone nos

Information and complaints related to the elections can be given on the following telephone numbers: Mysuru taluk 0821-2414811, Nanjangud 08221-223108, T Narsipur 08227-260210, Hunsur 08222-252040, K R Nagar 08223-262371, Periyapatna 08223-273175, H D Kote 08228-255325.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0