Chronology of events leading to Jaya's return as CM

Last Updated 23 May 2015, 06:54 IST

AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa who was sworn in Tamil Nadu Chief Minister today for the fifth time has traversed through several ups and downs in her political career spanning four decades. A chronology of main events are as follows:

June 24, 1991: Jayalalithaa sworn in Chief Minister after she leads AIADMK to a huge win in assembly elections.

May, 1996: Amidst charges of corruption during its rule, AIADMK loses in the assembly elections. DMK returns to power.

July 11, 1996: Then Janata Party leader Dr Subramanian Swamy files private complaint in a court accusing Jayalalithaa of amassing wealth worth Rs 66.65 crore disproportionate to her known sources of income during 1991 to 1996.

Dec 7, 1996: Jayalalitha arrested. Charges of corruption, including accumulation of disproportionate assets, follows.

April, 1997: DMK Government sets up three special courts to try 47 corruption cases against Jayalalithaa, her former cabinet colleagues and others. 1997: Prosecution launched against Jayalalithaa, her close friend Saskala and two others in a Chennai Court in DA case.

June 4, 1997: Charge-sheeted in DA case.1999: Discharged in Coal import deal case by special court; Upheld by Madras High Court.

February 2, 2000: Special court convicts her in Pleasant Stay Hotel case related to permission granted for construction allegedly flouting rules.Trial progresses in DA case. By August 2000, as many as 250 out of 260 prosecution witnesses examined.

October, 2000: A special court in Chennai convicts Jayalalithaa in TANSI land deal case.

May 14, 2001: Jayalalithaa leads AIADMK to landslide win in assembly elections; sworn in Chief Minister though she was disqualified to contest elections.

September 21, 2001: Jayalalithaa unseated as CM after Supreme Court quashes her appointment as she was disqualified to contest polls due to TANSI case conviction.December 4, 2001: Madras High Court acquits Jayalalithaa in the TANSI case and Pleasant Stay Hotel case.

Feb 21, 2002: Jayalalithaa elected to Assembly in a bypoll from Andipatti constituency.

March 2, 2002: Jayalalithaa sworn in as Chief Minister.In the DA case, three public prosecutors resign as also senior counsel. Several prosecution witnesses resile from their earlier depositions.

November 18, 2003: On a petition by DMK, Supreme Court transfers the trial in DA case to Bengaluru. 

November 24, 2003: Supereme Court upholds Jayalalithaa's acquittal in TANSI case.

January 23, 2004: Acquitted by a special court in the Rs 28.28 crore SPIC disinvestment case.

February 19, 2005: Karnataka Government appoints B V Acharya, a former advocate general, as Special Public Prosecutor (SPP) to conduct the prosecution in DA case.

May 11, 2006: AIADMK loses in assembly elections, DMK returns to power.

May 16, 2011: Jayalalithaa leads AIADMK to victory in assembly polls; sworn in Chief Minister

October/November 2011: Jayalalithaa deposes in Bengaluru Special Court in DA case and answers 1,339 questions by judge.

August 12, 2012: Acharya discharged from the case after he expresses his inability to continue as SPP and resigns.

February 2, 2013: Karnataka Government appoints G Bhavani Singh as SPP.

August 28, 2014: Special Court reserves judgement.

September 27, 2014: The Special Court holds Jayalalithaa and three others guilty of corruption, awards four years jail term to each, slaps Rs 100 crore fine on her, Rs 10 crore each on three other accused.

Jayalalithaa unseated as Chief Minister after she attracts disqualification as an MLA due to the conviction.

October 18, 2014 : Jayalalithaa granted bail by Supreme Court, released from Bengaluru jail after spending 21 days.

Jan 19, 2015:  High Court rejects prayer by Anbazhagan seeking discontinuation of Bhavani Singh as SPP.

Jan 24, 2015: BJP leader Subramanian Swamy files application before the High Court seeking permission to implead himself in Jayalalithaa's appeal.

Feb 11, 2015: High Court dismisses appeal by Anbazhagan against rejection of his plea for discontinuation of Bhavani Singh as SPP.

Mar 11, 2015: Swamy prays to the court to dismiss Jayalalithaa's appeal and to confirm her conviction.

Mar 11, 2015: Karnataka High Court reserves order on the appeals filed by Jayalalithaa and three others.

April 27, 2015: The Supreme Court annuls Tamil Nadu Government's appointment of Bhavani Singh as SPP.

April 28, 2015: B V Acharya re-appointed as SPP. Files written submission in High Court; seeks dismissal of appeals by Jayalalithaa and others.

May 11, 2015: Karnataka High Court acquits Jayalaithaa.

May 22, 2015: Jayalalithaa elected leader of AIADMK legislature party.

May 23, 2015: Sworn in Chief Minister for fifth time. 

(Published 23 May 2015, 06:43 IST)

Follow us on