Bypolls in 6 seats on June 27

Bypolls in 6 seats on June 27

Bypolls in 6 seats on June 27

The Election Commission today announced bypoll to six assembly constituencies in five states, including Radhakrishnan Nagar from where Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa is likely to contest.

Besides Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar, by elections would be held in Chokpot (Meghalaya), Aruvikkara (Kerala), Pratapgarh and Surma (Tripura) and Garoth (Madhya Pradesh) on June 27.

The notification would be issued June 3, while June 10 will be the last date of filing nominations. Counting will be held on June 30, an EC statement said.

Jayalalithaa, who took over as chief minister for the fifth time last week, will have to contest election within six months to become a member of the legislative assembly.
AIADMK MLA from Radhakrishnan Nagar Constituency P Vetrivel had resigned recently amid speculation that Jayalalithaa may contest the bypoll from there.

The disqualification of the AIADMK chief as a candidate in elections has ended following her acquittal by the Karnataka High Court in the disproportionate assets case, which she had suffered on her conviction last year.

Last November, she was disqualified from contesting elections for 10 years following her conviction by a special court in Bangalore. She was representing the Srirangam assembly seat then.

Jayalalithaa was convicted and sentenced to four years in jail besides a fine of Rs 100 crore in the disproportionate assets case by a special court in Bangalore.