Biker C S Santosh wins top FMSCI award

Biker C S Santosh wins top FMSCI award

Biker C S Santosh wins top FMSCI award

Top cross-country biker C S Santosh, who became the first Indian to take part in the famous Dakar Rally, was chosen as the Motor Sport Man of the Year at the annual FMSCI awards here.

The Bangalore-based racer was awarded with the Raymond Gautam Singhania Rolling Trophy and a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh for for his impressive show in the Dakar Rally. Santosh had finished overall 36th in the world's toughest cross-country rally.

The Motor Sport Star of the Future award went to 17-year-old Arjun Maini for his promising performance on the European F4 and F3 circuits. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Vijay Mallya for his contribution to motorsport in India.

Speaking on the occasion, FMSCI President R Bharath Raj said: "We are happy and proud to be giving away these awards to the 2014 champions. We hope these champions go to international events and keep the Indian flag flying high."

Special Awards:
The 2014 winners' list:

Indian Rally Championship - Overall (Driver/Co-driver): Gaurav Gil /usa Sherif. Team: Mahindra Adventure. 2000cc: Rahul Kanthraj/Vivek Bhatt. Team: Yokohama. 1600cc: Phalguna V Urs/Satish Rajagopal. Team: Yokohama.A FMSCI 1600 Cup: Adith KC/Harish KN.

Indian National TSD Rally Championship - Overall and Pro-Expert: KP Karthick Maruthi/S Sankar Anand. Pro-Stock: Chidananda Murthy/Sujith Kumar BS. Team: Tata Motors. JK Tyre Rotax Max Championship - Senior Max: Ameya Bafna. Junior Max: Rocky Donison. Micro Max: Yash Aradhya.

MMSC-FMSCI National Racing Championship (4-wheelers) - MRF FF 1600: Tarun Reddy. LGB 1300: Goutham Parekh. Team: Wallace Sports and Research Foundation. Indian Touring Cars: Arjun Narendran. Team: Big Foots Racing. Indian Junior Touring Cars: Dr VJ Senthil. Team: Big Foots Racing. Super Stock: B Balavijay. Team: Performance Racing.
AJK Tyre Racing Championship (4w) - JK FB 02: Vishnu Prasad. JK LGB F4: Diljith TS. VW Polo R Cup: Karthik Tharani. VW Polo R Cup Junior: Anindith Reddy Konda.

JK Tyre-FMSCI Indian National Drag Racing Championship -Javed Khan MD (Indian Open) and Joel Joseph (Unrestricted). MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Championship - Group D Novice (Up to 130cc): S Kannan. Team: TVS Racing. Manufacturer: TVS Racing. Group D Novice (165cc): R Harikrishnan. Team: Sparks Racing. Manufacturer: Yamaha. Group C (165cc) Open: K Jagan. Team: TVS Racing. Manufacturer: Yamaha.

MRF Mogrip FMSCI National Supercross Championship (2w) - Harith Noah (Foreign Open Grp A SX1: up to 250 cc 2 stroke/500 cc 4 Stroke), Rakesh Nagaraja (Novice Class Group C: 2/4 Stroke: up to 260 cc), Pramod Joshua (Indian Expert Class Group B: 2/4 Stroke: up to 260 cc), Abdul Wahid Tanveer (Indian Expert Class Grp C : 2/4 Stroke: up to 260 cc), Suhail Ahmed (Private Expert Class Group C: 2/4 Stroke : up to 260 cc), Ganesh Lokhande (Private Expert Grp A SX2: up to 250 cc 2 stroke /500 cc 4 Stroke) and Yash Pawar (Junior Supercross up to 250 cc 2/4 Stroke).