BJP trying to garner Muslim votes in Bihar

BJP trying to garner Muslim votes in Bihar

Aware of consolidation of Muslim votes towards troika of the JDU, RJD and the Congress, the BJP is working on a strategy to contain damage that includes exploiting successful evacuation of people from Yemen and Saudi Arabia during Bihar Assembly polls to give a message that Modi government is not anti-Minorities.

BJP leaders acknowledge that the “so-called secular formation” would be the first claimant over Muslim votes but they stressed that they have been countering what they called propaganda unleashed by the opposition that under the Modi government communal riots will happen routinely.

“What has happened in the last one year during Modi’s regime which was against Muslims?,” a BJP leader said.

The BJP is also playing out among the minority community the fact that the prime minister has been reiterating his government’s stand of “Sab ka saath, sab ka vikas”, said party sources.

Muslims constitute about 17 per cent of the state population. In Kosi, Purunea, Bhagalpur and Kishenganj areas of Eastern Bihar, they constitute 30 per cent of the population.

In the last 2010 Assembly elections, only BJP Muslim candidate Saba Zafar had won Amour seat in Purnia district despite contesting polls along with ‘secular ally’ JD-U. Of the 243-member Assembly, the BJP had won 86 seats.

The party had also failed to open its account in the minority belt during the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, with two time MP and lone Muslim face Shahnawaz Hussain losing Bhagalpur seat to RJD candidate Shailesh Kumar.

The BJP will be contesting polls along with its NDA allies LJP and RLSP though it is open to having truck with other smaller parties.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)