Bengaluru retain Lyngdoh, Walker

Bengaluru FC made sure that they retained their core team by handing contract extensions to Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Joshua Walker among others on Thursday.

The announcement was made a day after Bengaluru secured the signatures of North Korean striker Kim Seng-Yong and Seiminlen Doungel.

Named the League's midfielder of the 2014-15 season, Lyngdoh penned a two-year extension that keeps him with the Blues till the end of the 2016-17 season. Other players who will be at the club till the end of 2016-17 are John Johnson and Curtis Osano.

Meanwhile, midfielder Joshua Walker was gievn a one-year deal with the club having the option to add another year to it.

"I am delighted to extend my stay at Bengaluru FC. I have a lot left in me to give the club and its fans and I am grateful that this new deal gives me the chance and the time to be able to do that," said Lyngdoh after putting pen to paper.

Youngster Shankar Sampingiraj, who made a mark for himself with his consistent performances, was awarded a new three-year deal. Rino Anto, Lalchhuanmawia, Udanta Singh, Lalthuammawia Ralte, CK Vineeth and Beikhokhei Beingaichho have all been handed two-year deals while Siam Hanghal is on a one-year agreement with the club having the choice to extend it at the end of the season.

Other players including skipper Sunil Chhetri along with Robin Singh and Thoi Singh are expeceted to be loaned back to the club after they finish their assignment with the Indian Super League.

"It was important to retain the core of our team. The boys, owing to the performances they turned up with this season, were the subject of interest from many teams. But we are glad we have been able to retain them," said Mustafa Ghouse, COO, Bengaluru FC

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)