Curfew continues in tension-ridden areas of Jammu

Curfew continues in tension-ridden areas of Jammu

Indefinite curfew continued in parts of tension-ridden Jammu city on Friday.
The authorities have ordered closure of all educational institutions in five districts of the Jammu region for the day.

"Indefinite curfew imposed yesterday (Thursday) in areas under the jurisdiction of Satwari and Mirian Sahib police stations will continue till further orders", a senior police officer told IANS here.

District magistrate Jammu, Simrandeep Singh has also ordered imposition of preventive measures under section 144 in all parts of the city.

An assembly of five or more persons is deemed as unlawful under these preventive orders.

Protesters had on Thursday snatched an AK-47 rifle from a special police officer (SPO) in Digiana area of Jammu city. "We have launched a manhunt to trace the culprit and recover the weapon," police said.

The army was called to restore order after a Sikh youth identified as Jagjit Singh was killed in police firing during violent clashes between Sikh protesters and the security forces in Gadigarh (Satwari) area here.

Protesters had been demanding action against a police officer who removed posters carrying pictures of Sikh militant leader Jarnail Singh Bhindrawale on Wednesday.

The officer, assistant sub-inspector Arun Kumar Sharma, was attacked with a knife by a Sikh youth on Wednesday after he started removing the posters in Satwari area.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Mufti Muhammad Sayeed, Deputy Chief Minister Nirmal Singh and the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) president Mehbooba Mufti have condoled the death of the youth and appealed for maintaining peace and harmony between all communities in Jammu.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)