Airport clash: 4 CISF personnel arrested

Airport clash: 4 CISF personnel arrested

Kerala Police today arrested four CISF personnel in connection with destruction of property during the June 10 clash at Karipur airport between central armed police personnel and Airports Authority of India officials, leading to the death of a jawan.

Kondotty Circle Inspector B Santosh, the Investigating Officer in the case, said the four were identified after review of CCTV footage of the incident.

The arrests followed a complaint by AAI with regard to damage to airport property.
CCTV footage had shown CISF personnel going on a rampage and damaging property at the airport, apparently after hearing of the death of their colleague, he said.
Additional Director General of CISF Pachnanda is expected to visit the city to take stock of the situation.

Yesterday, police had registered a case against a Sub Inspector of the force S S Choudhary and 100 CISF personnel in connection with the clash.

A bullet from Choudhary's firearm had accidentally hit the jawan, causing his death, according to the police. The SI had suffered injuries in his left palm during the incident and is being treated.

Police had earlier arrested nine AAI officials on a complaint from CISF commander Biju. They were produced in court yesterday and remanded in judicial custody till June 27.

A dispute over a CISF personnel who insisted that an official of the Fire Force department of AAI undergo security clearance led to a verbal duel between the two and in the ensuing melee the jawan received fatal gunshot injuries.

After the violence, the airport was temporarily closed and flights were diverted to Nedumbassery Airport in Kochi that night. Flight operations resumed the next day.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)