Lokayukta files three FIRs against Yeddyurappa

Lokayukta files three FIRs  against Yeddyurappa

The Lokayukta Police on Friday registered three FIRs against former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa in connection with illegal denotification of land.

The complaint was filed by Jayakumar Hiremath based on the Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) 2012 report titled “Denotification of land by government and allotment of sites by BDA.”

Hiremath had filed the complaint in 2014 and it was referred to the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) for preliminary inquiry.

The denotifications took place between 2007 and 2012 when H D Kumaraswamy and B S Yeddyurappa were the chief ministers. “The CID recently submitted its report along with supporting documents for the instances of illegal denotifications during 2007-2012. The CAG report has around 40 such instances of illegal denotifications by the government and each one will be considered as an independent case. The FIRs will be registered as and when more documents are gathered,” an official said.

The FIRs named Yeddyurappa as the main accused along with officers in the Urban Development Department, Bangalore Development Authority and also the original land owners.

Two FIRs pertain to denotification of land in Kothnur village in JP Nagar. The first case is about denotification of six acres and 10 guntas of land for forming JP Nagar 8th phase.
The land in survey numbers 171/3, 172/5 and 172/6 was part of the final notification. Based on the application filed by the original land owners, Yeddyurappa ordered denotification of land in January 2010. The FIR names Yeddyurappa and five others.
The second case is about denotification of six acres and 30 guntas of land in survey number 24. The denotification was ordered in June 2010 and the FIR names Yeddyurappa and six others.

In both instances, preliminary notification was issued in 1988 and the final notification came into force in 1994.

The third case involves denotification of one acre and 17 guntas of land in Bilekahalli village. The land in survey numbers 5/1 and 6/3 was part of the final notification for forming BTM Layout 4th stage.

Though the land was part of the final notification in 1990, Yeddyurappa ordered denotification in October 2009. This FIR names Yeddyurappa and four others.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)