State filmdom scores hattrick

Abhaya Simha, Sheshadri, Shjivadhwaj thrilled at winning national film awards
Last Updated 23 January 2010, 18:07 IST

While ‘Gubbachigalu,’ directed by Abhaya simha, won the best children’s film award, film maker P Sheshadri bagged the best Kannada movie award for his film ‘Vimukti.’
Shivadhwaj’s Tulu film ‘Gaggara’ won the best film award in other than those specified in the Schedule VIII of the constitution category.

‘Gubbachchigalu’ has been produced by B Suresh. Abhayasimha, a graduate from Film and Television Institute of Pune, won the award for his debut movie.

The movie revolves around two children, grown up in Bangalore, who go in search of sparrows. Journalist N A M Ismail has penned the story.


Abhaya simha was glad that his movie got the recognition at the national level. “I have just begun exploring the medium. The award will certainly motivate me to do more good movies,” he told Deccan Herald. At present he is working on his next project ‘Shikari,’ in which well-known actor Mammootty has agreed to act.

Interestingly, all five movies that P Sheshadri directed in the last 10 years have won the national awards. Before ‘Vimukti,’ the director had won the national awards for ‘Munnudi,’ ‘Atithi,’ ‘Beru’ and ‘Thuthuri.’ ‘Vimukti’ deals with man-woman relationship.
Sheshadri said he was happy that all his movies have got awards. “At the same time I have a fear because every time I win an award my responsibility goes up. I should maintain the standard in my next movie also,” he said.

However, he does not agree that he makes movies only for award. “My only intention is to make a good movie. If I achieve that, naturally it will get recognition,” he said.

Shivadhwaj’s Gaggara, deals with the conflict between the tradition and modernity in the backdrop of bhootaradhane, popular in coastal region. Suchendra Prasad and Jayasheela play the lead roles in the movie.

Shivadhwaj said the award was a recognition for his efforts to represent the dying tradition. “This is a smallcontribution from my side in saving the rich culture of Tulunadu.”

State to honour winners

Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa on Saturday said the State would soon organise a function to felicitate V K Murthy, the first cinematographer to be chosen for the Dadasaheb Phalke Award and winners of the 56th National Film Awards from the State. He congratulated directors - Abhaya Simha, P Sheshadri and Shivadhwaj.

(Published 23 January 2010, 18:06 IST)

Follow us on