CNNAEO demands CBI probe into UP journalist's death

CNNAEO demands CBI probe into UP journalist's death

The Confederation of Newspapers and News Agencies Employees Organisations (CNNAEO) today demanded a CBI inquiry into the killing of Uttar Pradesh-based journalist Jagendra Singh early this month and dismissal of a state minister for his alleged role in it.

Condemning the "brutal"  killing of Singh, CNNAEO General Secretary M S Yadav said it was an attack on the freedom of the press and demanded a CBI probe.

"The matter has to be investigated by an independent agency and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav should take action against his minister Ram Murti Verma for his alleged role," Yadav said.

"The announcement of Rs 30 lakh as compensation to the slain journalist's family does not have any meaning and the CNNAEO executive members will meet the union Home Minister Rajnath Singh asking for a CBI probe," Yadav said.

Jagendra Singh, a free lance journalist was allegedly set on fire by police personnel on June one at his house in Shahjanhanpur in Uttar Pradesh.

He succumbed to burn injuries at a hospital in  Lucknow on June eight.

Uttar Pradesh Minister Ram Murti Verma has been accused of conspiring in Singh's alleged murder and booked along with five others in the case.

Jagendra Singh's family members have alleged he was set on fire by Verma's henchmen and some police personnel for writing against the minister's illegal activities.

The meeting of the CNNAEO executive committee was attended by Santhosh Kumar and C S Naidu of All India Newspapers Employees Federations, Rajendra Prabhu of National Union of Journalists (I), Vikram Rao and Parmanand Pandey of Indian Federation of Working Journalists, M L Joshi of UNI, Roop Chand from TImes of India, Rajbir Singh and K S Shankar of Federation of PTI Employees Unions. 

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Comments (+)