Panel nod for Eshwarappa's candidature

It was also decided in the meeting held at Chief Minister Yeddyurappa’s Dollars’ colony residence, that Eshwarappa alone will file the nomination papers for the election on January 28.

According to sources, the co-ordination committee has almost cleared the names of former ABVP president V P Krishna Bhat and former minister V Somanna for nominating to the Legislative Council. The committee has not yet taken any decision on the third seat for which Cine actor Jaggesh, Tara and dalit poet Siddalingaiah’s names are making rounds.

However, the Committee members learnt to have decided to wait for the Supreme Court judgement on BBMP polls on January 27 on making the nominations. If the SC stays the elections, the nominations arelikely to be put on hold.

The party candidates for the BBMP polls will be finalised after consulting the local leaders and MLAs in the first week of February. Besides, it was decided to hold ward-wise and Assembly-wise public meetings of the party workers for the elections.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)