Honouring past, recognising future

Honouring past, recognising future

Jawahar SCs initiative earns praise

Honouring past, recognising future

Achievers: From left: Hardik Munoth (best bowler, Div I), K Goutham (best all-rounder, Div I), N Sunil (best all-rounder, Div III), BR Sunil Kumar(best all-rounder, Div II) along with senior cricketers from Jawahar Sports Club Dr HC Keshavdas, N Vishwanath, K Vasudevamurthy, SA Ramu (on behalf of V Subramanya) and Usha Venugopal (on behalf of CS Venugopal) at a felicitation function in Bangalore. DH photo

Additionally, the club also honoured the men after whom the awards have been named -- V Subramanya, K Vasudevamurthy, N Vishwanath, the late CS Venugopal and Dr HC Keshavadas -- at a function at the Chinnaswamy stadium on Tuesday night.

Both KSCA president Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar and secretary Brijesh Patel lauded Jawahar Sports Club for its initiative whilst handing over the prizes, which include a cash award of Rs 3,000 and a rolling trophy.

Subramanya, now based in Australia, heralded the beginning of the golden era of Karnataka cricket, under whom stalwarts such as Patel and Gundappa Viswanath took wings, and went on to represent India, while Vasudevamurthy captained Mysore in the Ranji Trophy final against Bombay.

Vishwanath played for the Indians against MCC, while Venugopal served Karnataka with distinction. Former KSCA vice-president H C Keshavadas has been a pillar of the Jawahar Sports Club.

While Patel threw light on his experiences of playing under Subramanya -- “One of the things he said to me as a junior player was to never lend my gear to a senior, an advice I took to heart” -- Wadiyar reciprocated Jawahars’ desire to recognise local talent with a gesture of his own.

The KSCA president announced a cash award of Rs 25,000 towards any talented league cricketer in need of financial assistance.

The inaugural recipients of the Jawahars annual awards are:

V Subramanya award (best batsman, Div I): R Jonathan (Social Cricketers).
N Vishwanath award (best bowler, Div I): Hardik Munoth (Bangalore Cricketers).
K Vasudevamurthy award (best all-rounder, Div I): K Gowtham (Jawahar Sports Club).

CS Venugopal award (best all-rounder, Div II): BR Sunil Kumar (Jupiter Cricket Association).

Dr HC Keshavadas award (best all-rounder, Div III): N Sunil (Vijaya Cricket Club).

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox