Nayar slams double ton as West gain full control

Nayar slams double ton as West gain full control

Resuming at 102, Nayar continued to hammer the North bowlers and found good support from Mumbai team-mate Powar, who came up with a 154-ball 109 at the Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground.

In reply, North were struggling at 36 for three at the end of the day, with Virat Kohli (19 n.o.) giving company to Vikramjeet Malik (12 n.o.).

Resuming at 425 for five, West lost Ravindra Jadeja (61), who feel prey to pacer Parwinder Awana. Manpreet Gony got rid of Irfan Pathan (5). But Nayar, who cracked 38 fours and five sixes, and Powar took West to a position of strength. Powar struck 13 fours and a six off during his 154-ball stay.


WEST ZONE (I Innings, O/n: 425/5): Wasim Jaffer lbw Malik 12, Ajinkya Rahane c Kaul b Awana 34,  Parthiv Patel b Gony 55, Cheteshwar Pujara b Bhatia 77, Rohit Sharma b Mishra 63, Abhishek Nayar c Dhawan b Mishra 259, Ravindra Jadeja c Kaul b Awana 61, Irfan Pathan b Gony 5, Ramesh Powar c Bhatia b Mishra 109, Dhawal Kulkarni (not out) 50, Munaf Patel b Mishra 0. Extras (B-1, LB-12, W-2, NB-29) 44. Total (all out, 171.2 overs) 769.

Fall of wickets: 1-39, 2-55, 3-152, 4-221, 5-285, 6-441, 7-446, 8-643, 9-757.
Bowling: Manpreet Singh Gony 22-2-104-2, Vikramjeet Singh Malik 23-2-126-1, Parvinder Awana 23-0-115-2, Rajat Bhatia 13-3-39-1, Vikas Mishra 34.2-1-154-4, Ravi Inder Singh 17-1-55-0, Rahul Dewan 18-3-57-0, Mithun Manhas 11-0-48-0, Virat Kohli 7-0-39-0, Shikhar Dhawan 3-0-19-0.

NORTH ZONE (I Innings): Ravi Inder Singh c Jaffer b Pathan 0, Shikhar Dhawan c P Patel b M Patel 2, Rahul Dewan lbw M Patel 0, Virat Kohli (batting) 19, Vikramjeet Singh Malik (batting) 12. Extras (NB-3) 3. Total (for 3 wkts, 9 overs) 36.
Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-2, 3-7.

Bowling: Munaf Patel 4-2-11-2, Irfan Pathan 4-0-18-1, Dhawal Kulkarni 1-0-7-0.