'No alliance between BJP, JD(S) for BBMP polls'

'No alliance between BJP, JD(S) for BBMP polls'

'No alliance between BJP, JD(S) for BBMP polls'

 The State BJP on Sunday distanced itself from K S Eshwarappa’s statement that his party would enter into an alliance with the JD(S) for the BBMP polls.

Eshwarappa, who is the leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council, had made the statement in his congratulatory speech following the election to the post of deputy chairman of the Upper House on Saturday.

The two parties had entered into a tie-up to get Marithebbe  gowda of the JD(S) get elected as deputy chairman.

Addressing a press meet on Sunday, party state president Pralhad Joshi said Eshwarappa’s statement that BJP and JD(S) were alliance partners was confined only to the polls for the post of deputy chairman. He said the BJP will go it alone in all the 198 wards of the BBMP. “The matter ends there. There is no question of any alliance,” Joshi said.

At the same time, there are signs of discontent in the BJP ahead of the selection of candidates for the BBMP polls. According to party sources, leaders B S Yeddyurappa, Eshwarappa, Katta Subramanya Naidu, are said to have expressed their discontent to party state president that they were not being taken into confidence in the selection of candidates. The entire show was being run by senior leaders Ananth Kumar, D V Sadanadanda Gowda and R Ashoka, they are said to have complained.

JD(S)’ promise

At an election convention held at Kengeri, former chief minister and JD(S) leader H D Kumaraswamy said that his party would waive of property tax to be paid by those owning 20x30 sq ft sites if it comes to power. He said the Congress had been “looting” the state exchequer in the name of garbage tenders and solid waste management projects. Kumaraswamy said he would take an undertaking from party candidates that they would resign from their membership of the BBMP Council if they fail to meet the expectations of the people.

The party will announce its first list of candidates at a convention scheduled to be held at the National College Grounds in Bengaluru on Thursday.