JD(S) candidates to take oath of integrity, give affidavits

JD(S) candidates to take oath of integrity, give affidavits

Party finalises 150 names, will announce them at public meeting today

 The JD(S), which won just 15 seats in the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) elections in 2010, is now trying to reinvent itself to face the fresh polls later this month.

The party will keep the names of its candidates confidential and reveal them on Thursday at a public meeting at the National College Grounds in Basavanagudi at 5 pm. Its leaders have so far finalised names of almost 150 candidates who will take an oath of integrity as and when their names are publicly announced. They will give a written statement/affidavit that the party can invoke their dismissal if they are found involved in any irregularity after they are elected. The brain behind this exercise is the party’s State president, H D Kumaraswamy. His father and party supremo H D Deve Gowda, however, is not very enthusiastic about the event. Gowda wanted to release the list of candidates only after the Congress and the BJP did theirs.

On Wednesday, Kumaraswamy told reporters that the JD(S) would field candidates in all the 198 wards and give “stiff competition” to both the Congress and the BJP, both of which were “grappling” with allegations of corruption. JD(S) candidates would reach out to the voters by highlighting the various scams and irregularities in the BBMP, during the reign of both the BJP and the Congress. They will raise the waste management scam and the pilferage of crores of rupees in advertisement taxes. The party will also release a booklet on the scams, he added.

The party aims to win 50-60 seats. It is confident of doing well in wards under Rajarajeshwarinagar, Dasarahalli, Basavanagudi, Byatarayanapura, Yeshwantpur and K R Puram Assembly constituencies. Sources in the JD(S) said that of the nine wards in Rajarajeshwarinagar, the party could win about six seats; about five out of eight wards in Dasarahalli; three out of six in Basavanagudi; four out of seven in Byatarayanapura; three out of five in Yeshwantpur, and two out of nine in K R Puram.

The sources further said that a majority of the candidates chosen were those who had been with the party for long and had a good standing in their wards. While no personalities have approached the party for tickets, a handful of the aspirants are professionals like doctors and engineers.

Wives of two JD(S) MLAs in race

The wives of two sitting MLAs of the JD(S) have bagged tickets to contest the BBMP polls, it is learnt. While Akhanda Srinivasamurthy’s (Pulakeshinagar) wife Kriya Shylaja will be fielded again from Muneshwara ward, K Gopalaiah’s (Mahalakshmi Layout) wife Hemalatha will contest from Vrushabhavathi ward.

Some of the other names doing the rounds are Raghavendra Gowda (Devasandra); Lakshmimurthy (A Narayanpura); Vinod Kumar (Vignananagar); Ambikamani (Vidyaranyapura); M Nagaraju (Kuvempunagar); Jayakumar (Yeshwantpur); Veena M (HMT); Prakash Shettihalli; Dorairaju (Mallasandra); Ranganatha (Bagalgunte), and Devika Soundarya (T Dasarahalli).

However, the party has not released the list of candidates.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox