Private parties may take over maintenance of Yatri Nivas

Last Updated 24 August 2015, 17:30 IST

The maintenance of the Yatri Nivas and government hotels at various tourism spots in the State would be handed over to private parties as a proposal, submitted by the Tourism Department, has received the State Cabinet approval.

Yatri Nivas and hotels that were constructed by the government at various tourism spots, several years ago, stand in total neglect due to poor maintenance. Now, funds have to be allotted for repair and renovation expenses.

Melkote is one such popular pilgrim centre, where a Yatri Nivas was constructed at a cost of Rs 35 lakh about two decades ago. Unfortunately, it was not utilised even once.

The building has to be taken care of by the temple trust or its administrative officer, after the construction. Its maintenance was handed over to the Executive Officer in 2009, but the officer had not taken charge.

During the year 2011-12, Rs 18 lakh was spent to take up repair works on the building and also laying of roads. As no one was ready to take charge of its maintenance, it was left locked and wild plants grew on the roads.

Thousands of devotees from Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and other places visit the pilgrim centre, and they have to struggle to find a decent place to stay overnight.

Now, with the Tourism Department pitching in and the Cabinet giving an official nod, the places would get a facelift if sufficient funds are allotted for renovation works.

Speaking to Deccan Herald, Harish, Assistant Director, Tourism Department, Mandya, said State-level tenders have been invited for maintenance of the Yatri Nivas buildings. Soon, they would be available for tourists, he added.

The list of Yatri Nivas buildings in the State awaiting renovation are Ganigapura (Kalaburagi); Devarayanadurga (Tumakuru); Melkote (Mandya); Tannikola, Mahanteshnagar (Belagavi); Madhyaranga (Chamarajanagar); Lakkundi (Gadag); Aihole (Bagalkot); Somanathapura (Mysuru); Gokarna (Uttara Kannada); Anmod (Uttara Kannada); Shiradi (Hassan); Telugi (Vijayapura); Soolekere (Davangere); Haleyuru (Shivamogga); Halebeedu (Hassan) and Moodibidri (Dakshina Kannada).

(Published 24 August 2015, 17:30 IST)

Follow us on