Zohra Segal honoured with Kalpana Chawla Excellence Awards

(From left) Kiren Sehgal, daughter of Zohra Sehgal; Bhuvneshwari Kumari; Sunita Narain; Nafisa Ali; Kiran Bedi; kathak dancer Uma Sharma; Sushila from MKSS (Rajsthan), Ajeet Cour and Shanti Hiranand pose for a group photo after receiving the Kalpana Chawla Excellence Awards in New Delhi on Sunday. Also in the picture is Bansi Lal Chawla father of Kalpana Chawla (centre left) and general secretary of PECOBA A S Kohli (C right). PTI Segal's daughter Kiran received the award on behalf of her 91-year-old mother.
The awards, instituted by PECOBA (Punjab Engineering College Chandigarh Old Boys Association) was given by Kalpana Chawla's father Banarsi Lal Chawla at the seventh Annual Function on Sunday.

Kalpana Chawla, an Indian astronaut was killed in Space Shuttle Columbia disaster on February 1, 2003.

Other awardees amongst the ten recipients include Captain Lakshmi Sehgal who was a minister in Netaji Subhas Chander Bose's Azad Hind Government, retired IPS officer Kiran Bedi, Padmashree Punjabi Litterateur Ajeet Cour, singer Shanti Hiranand and Sunita Narain.

Girija Vyas, the present chairperson of the National Commission for Women presided over the function.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on DeccanHerald.com

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)