Winners of Asian Powerlifting C'ship accorded warm welcome

The port city has a history of producing top class powerlifters who have made the State and the country proud by featuring in medal bracket of various international events.

Continuing its tradition, six powerlifters from the city won medals of various hues at the Asian Benchpress Powerlifting Championship held at Muscat, Oman recently.

The medal winners were given a warm welcome at the Mangaluru Central Railway Station on their arrival on Friday morning.

The winners Sathish kumar (Gold medal), Vivek Kamath (Gold medal), Vincent Prakash Carlo (Bronze medal), Jayappa Lamani (Silver medal), Uday Kumar (Silver medal) and Nayana Shriyan (Silver medal) were welcomed with chende vadya and were taken out in a procession in an open jeep from Railway Station to the gymnasium at Car Street.

Satish Kumar said “We are happy to emerge winners in the competition. We are overwhelmed with the love and affection showered on us  by people of Mangaluru.”
Excise Joint Commissioner Rajendra Prasad was present.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0