JnNURM buses to ply on City roads soon

Low-floor buses to be fitted with digital display and voice record facilities

The dreams of Mangalureans to travel in buses sanctioned under Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JnNURM) may be a reality soon.The Mangaluru KSRTC Division is planning to roll out the buses before December 18.

Speaking to Deccan Herald, KSRTC Mangaluru Divisional Controller Vivekanand Hegade said that the low-floor buses with digital display and voice recorded facility will commence its service shortly. All 17 buses will commence from State Bank Bus Stand as demanded by the KSRTC and people of the city.

All preparations are in place to introduce JnNURM buses in the city. “The KSRTC has completed the process of appointment of drivers and conductors, who have already undergone training at the KSRTC’s Training Institute in Hassan. We are waiting for the voice recorded system (to inform the passengers on the next stop in the bus). Once it is fitted into the bus, the JnNURM bus service will commence,” he added.

The 17 low-floor buses with JnNURM specifications from Mysuru division will serve the people of the region. The RTO has already finalised the timings for the buses. The registration of the buses has already been completed.

“The KSRTC had received permits for 18 buses. The route of one permits could not be finalised as the KSRTC had sought a few changes in it and applied for the same to the RTA. The timetable for 17 buses has also been finalised. The permits have to be obtained within a month from the finalisation of time table. As there would be delay in purchase of new buses, we had decided to run the buses that were used in Mysuru division, in the first phase,”  he said.

The proposal of introducing JnNURM buses was pending for more than two years due to various reasons. Some of the routes are State Bank to Gurupura-Kaikamba via Mallikatte, Moodushedde via Mallikatte, Pilikula via Mallikatte, Katipalla via Honnakatte, Mangalapet via Kana, Katipalla-Kaikamba via Janata Colony, Shaktinagar via Nantoor, Kunjathabail via Car Street- Kuloor, Kunjathabail via Kavoor, from Talapady to Bondel via State Bank, from State Bank to Vamanjoor via Pacchanaady, Mudipu via Deralakatte, Someshwar via Ullal, Bajal via Padil, Faizal Nagar/Jalligudde via Padil, and Kinya via K C Road.

It may be recalled that the Union government had sanctioned 65 buses to Mangaluru division of KSRTC under JnNURM scheme. Out of 65 buses sanctioned, 35 are for Mangaluru and remaining for Udupi.

The KSRTC Mangaluru division had submitted 35 applications seeking route permits to operate the city buses under JnNURM in December 2013 and March 2014. The proposals were pending before the RTA due to District Magistrate (DM) notification of 1992 that restricts the issue of permits for buses to operate from State Bank bus terminal.

It was on August 21, 2015, Deputy Commissioner A B Ibrahim relaxed the DM notification to allow the KSRTC to operate 18 buses to various destinations from State Bank Bus Stand under JnNURM.

The KSRTC has been insisting the RTA to issue permits for remaining 17 buses to allow them to operate from State Bank area. On the other hand, the RTA has been asking the KSRTC to operate it from KSRTC Bus Stand.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0