Karnataka prevail in 1-run thriller against Mumbai

Karnataka prevail in 1-run thriller against Mumbai

Karnataka bowlers held their nerves to eke out a hard-fought one-run victory against a formidable Mumbai side in a Group D thriller of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy here today.

Chasing 163 for a win at the DRIEMS Ground, Tangi, looked oncourse at 111 for five in 14.2 overs before Karnataka bowlers stopped them short at 161 all out.

Abhishek Nayar top-scored with 49 runs, while opener Shreyas Iyer (32) and skipper Aditya Tare (28) contributed with good starts only to let it slip against a disciplined Karnataka attack.

Left-arm bowler Sreenath Aravind, medium-pacer Stuart Binny and leg-spinner KC Cariappa bagged two wickets each to help the R Vinay Kumar-led side pocket four useful points.

Earlier put into bat, Karnataka posted a formidable 162 all out in 20 overs with Binny top-scoring with 38 runs. Opener Mohammad Taha (37) and Robin Uthappa (30) also made useful contributions.

Pace spearhead Dhawal Kulkarni and medium-pacer Rohan Raje bagged three wickets each.

Brief Scores:

Karnataka 162 all out in 20 overs (Stuart Binny 38, Mohammad Taha 37; Dhawal Kulkarni 3-35, Rohan Raje 3-29)

Mumbai 161 all out in 20 overs (Abbhishek Nayar 49, Shreyas Iyer 32; Sreenath Aravind 2-32, Stuart Binny 2-20, KC Cariappa 2-32)

Points: Karnataka 4, Mumbai 0.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on DeccanHerald.com

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)