116 remain in fray in DK ZP, 77 in Udupi ZP

116 remain in fray in DK ZP, 77 in Udupi ZP

Of the 210 candidates who had filed nominations for the 36 seats of Dakshina Kannada Zilla Panchayat, 94 have withdrawn their nominations, leaving 116 candidates are in fray.

They include Congress – 36, BJP – 36, JD(S) – 11, BSP – 1, CPI – 1, CPM – 7, JD(U) – 2, SDPI – 3 and Independents – 19.

Out of the 36 Zilla Panchayat seats in Dakshina Kannada, 10 are in Mangaluru taluk, nine in Bantwal taluk, seven in Belthangady taluk, six in Puttur taluk and four in Sullia taluk.

361 TP candidates
Similarly, out of the total 562 nominations papers filed for 136 taluk panchayat seats in Dakshina Kannada, a total of 201 nomination papers have been withdrawn and 361 candidates are in fray. They include: Congress – 136, BJP – 136, JD(S) – 16, BSP – 3, CPI – 2, CPI(M) – 22, JD(U) – 3, SDPI – 17 and Independents – 26.

Out of 136 seats in the district, 39 are in Mangaluru taluk, 34 in Bantwal taluk, 26 in Belthangady taluk, 24 in Puttur taluk and 13 in Sullia taluk.

In Udupi
A total of 77 candidates have remained in fray out of the 139 papers filed for the 26 Zilla Panchayat seats in Udupi district for the forthcoming elections.

Out of the 77 nominations, 26 each are from Congress and BJP, while six are from JD(S), four each from BSP and CPI(M) and 11 are Independents candidates. There are 26 zilla panchayat seats (Kundapur 10, Udupi 11 and Karkala five) in the district. The Congress and the BJP have fielded the nominees for all the zilla panchayat seats in the district. While JD(S) is contesting for two seats in Kundapur, three in Udupi and one in Karkala.

TP polls
As many as 233 nominees have remained in the fray for the forthcoming taluk panchayat elections in the district. There are 98 taluk panchayat constituencies in the district – of which there are 37 constituencies in Kundapur, 41 in Udupi and 20 in Karkala. Out of the 233 nominations, 98 each are from the Congress and the BJP, 10 from the JD(S), 12 from the CPI(M), one from the SDPI and 14 are independents candidates.

February 11 was the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers. Elections will be held on February 20 and counting of votes would take place on February 23.
DH News Service

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily