Sunrisers spoilt for choice

Sunrisers spoilt for choice

Team in focus

Sunrisers spoilt for choice

With a plethora of quality options in their squad, Sunrisers Hyderabad will have only themselves to blame if they fail to make an impact in this edition of the tournament.

After their title winning show in 2009 as Deccan Chargers, the Hyderabad franchise have failed to make a strong mark in the following editions.  

The Sunrisers' decision to slightly tinker the side and bring in more talented players from the domestic circuit can fuel their chances of becoming a solid unit as the event progresses.

Left-arm seamer Barinder Sran, who caught everyone's attention with a scintillating domestic season that helped him gain a place in the Indian ODI side for the tour of Australia early this year, will be egging to prove that his international appearance was not a flash in the pan.

Sran will join forces with senior pro Ashish Nehra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Trent Bolt and Bangladeshi sensation Mustafizur Rahman to form a strong bowling attack for the Hyderabad outfit.

Nehra's addition couldn't have come at a better time for the Hyderabad Sunrisers. The veteran left-arm pacer turned the clock back with a fine performance in the recently concluded World T20 in India. Mustafizur's rise into a pacer with a knack of bagging wickets at the death has made him one of the main players to watch out for this IPL, if he stays fit.

Shikhar Dhawan and skipper David Warner will lead the batting charge while Kane Williamson, Eoin Morgan, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda and Mumbai’s Aditya Tare give a picture of a solid middle order.

Sunrisers Hyderabd can bank on the experience of Morgan and Williamson while the firepower of Hooda and Tare comes as a breath of fresh air.

Sunrisers though will miss the services of the experienced Yuvraj Singh for at least two weeks as the Indian all-rounder is yet to recover from an ankle injury suffered during the World T20.

Warner's captaincy will be tested under pressure situations and the Australian's ability to inspire his players and make important decisions will hold key to Sunrisers' fortunes.

Squad: David Warner (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ashish Reddy, Trent Boult, Ricky Bhui, Bipul Sharma, Ben Cutting, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Siddarth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Eoin Morgan, Mustafizur Rahman, Ashish Nehra, Naman Ojha, Vijay Shankar, Karn Sharma, Barinder Sran, Tirumalasetti Suman, Aditya Tare, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)