BJP's Chaitrasri is C'magaluru ZP chief

BJP's Chaitrasri is C'magaluru ZP chief

Congress members object to felicitation of winners by BJP at the panchayat hall

B S Chaitrasri and Ramaswamy were elected as the Zilla Panchayat president and vice president respectively, on Wednesday.

The 33-member Zilla Panchayat has 19 BJP members. Chaitrasri of the BJP and Lolakshibai of the Congress had filed their nominations for the post of the president. Chaitrasri secured 19 votes, while the Lolakshibai secured 12 votes. The two JD(S) members remained neutral during the election.

Ramaswamy Shettigadde of the BJP and Sadashiva P Raghavan of the Congress had filed nominations for the post of vice president. Raghavan could secure only 13 votes. One of the JD(S) member remained neutral during the election.

Mysuru regional commissioner A M Kunjappa conducted the election process.

Water problems

Chaitrasri said that she will travel across the district to review the drought situation. “I will give priority to solve the drinking water shortage and to provide basic facilities during the five-year term,” the president promised.

She said, “We have come to power at a time when the district is reeling under drought. People have huge expectations from us. All the members will make an earnest effort to solve the problems faced by the people.”

Vice president S N Ramaswamy concurred that priority will be given for solving water crisis. “I will work for the integrated development of the district during the term,” he added.

Walkout by Cong

As soon as the names of the president and the vice president were announced, the BJP workers rushed to the Zilla Panchayat hall to congratulate the winning candidates. They did not even allow the Congress and JD(S) leaders to wish the newly elected president and vice president. BJP town unit president Varasiddivenugopal announced that the BJP will honour the president and vice president at the venue.

Zilla Panchayat Congress member Mahesh Odeyar objected and questioned the move to felicitate the newly elected president and vice president in the presence of BJP leaders in the Zilla Panchayat hall. “What is the need for using the government property for organising a felicitation ceremony by a political party?” he asked.


Reacting to it, MLA D N Jeevraj said, “The BJP has been felicitating the newly elected presidents and vice presidents. There is no need to give a new meaning to it. After the felicitation, we will allow you to felicitate the newly elected president.”

Enraged over the incident, Congress and JD(S) leaders walked out of the Zilla Panchayat hall.

Even the mediapersons who went to cover the election process were not allowed inside the hall till the names of president and vice president were announced.