74% turnout in TN polls; Jaya, MK fate sealed

74% turnout in TN polls; Jaya, MK fate sealed

74% turnout in TN polls; Jaya, MK fate sealed

In a moderate turnout, about 74% of the 5.8 crore electorate in Tamil Nadu cast their votes in 232 Assembly constituencies in the single-phase voting on Monday which passed off peacefully.

The voting percentage of 74 is less compared to the 78.01% polled in 2011 elections.
“At the end of the poll, Tamil Nadu recorded 73.76% turnout,” Chief Electoral Officer Rajesh Lakhoni told reporters.

Palakodu constituency in Dharmapuri district recorded the highest turnout of 88.5% followed by Pennagaram in the same district, which registered 87.6%. “Harbour constituency in Chennai recorded the lowest turnout of 55.27 and over all Chennai, which comprises 16 constituencies, recorded only 60.47%,” Lakhoni said. The provisional figures might change on Tuesday, he said.

In Krishnagiri district, three persons were injured when police resorted to lathicharge to disperse two groups of clashing DMK and Left partymen at a polling booth at Thamaripalli.

Prominent leaders, including chief minister nominees of ruling AIADMK J Jayalalithaa (RK Nagar), DMK president M Karunanidhi (Tiruvarur), DMDK founder Vijayakanth (Udumelpet), and Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) youth wing leader Anbumani Ramadoss (Pennagaram), exercised their franchise at their respective polling booths in the city. Karunanidhi is eyeing a record 13th successive win and a record sixth term as chief minister.

“If you wait for two days, the verdict of the people of Tamil Nadu will be known,” said Jayalalithaa, while Karunanidhi said the DMK-Congress chances were bright and that it would get adequate numbers to form the next government. Kollywood, which had shut shop and cancelled all shoots, turned out in good numbers to exercise its right. Rajinikanth and Kamal Hassan, Nadigar Sangam general secretary Vishal, Vijay, Ajith and Suriya cast their votes.

Of the total 234 constituencies, elections to Aravakurichi and Thanjavur seats were deferred to May 23, following complaints of large-scale distribution of money to voters by political parties.

After the electoral fortunes of more than 3,700 candidates were sealed, the electronic voting machines were moved to strong rooms where they will be kept till May 19, the counting day. Also in the fray are 318 women, two transgenders and 1,566 Independents.