Cong woes multiply with bypoll losses in Gujarat, Telangana, UP

Cong woes multiply with bypoll losses in Gujarat, Telangana, UP

Cong woes multiply with bypoll losses in Gujarat, Telangana, UP

 Adding to the woes of the Congress in Assam and Kerala assembly elections, the party suffered reverses in the May 16 bypolls in Gujarat, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh, the results of which were announced on Wednesday.

Congress candidates failed to retain a seat each in Gujarat and Telangana, while forfeiting deposits in both the seats in UP.

Congress lost Tura Lok Sabha byelections in Meghalaya by the biggest margin in its history in the state and failed to win in 13 of the 14 assembly segments held by partymen.

Conrad K Sangma, son of nine-time parliamentarian and former Lok Sabha Speaker Purno A Sangma, won the Tura seat by a huge margin of nearly two lakh votes. The seat was held by his late father for over four decades.

Conrad's lone rival - Chief Minister Mukul Sangma’s wife Dikkanchi D Shira, trailed by over 1.92 lakh votes.

The ruling Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh retained Bilari and Jangipur Assembly seats, defeating nearest rival candidates from the BJP. Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) did not contest the bypoll n which both Congress candidates forfeited their security deposit. 

From Bilari (Morada-bad/Shamli) Assembly seat, SP candidate Mohammad Fahim, who got 9,044 votes, won with a margin of 7,063 votes against his nearest rival BJP’s Suresh Saini, officials said. From Jangipur (Ghazipur), SP candidate Kismati Devi won with a margin of 22,092 votes against her nearest rival BJP candidate Ramesh Singh, they said.
The BJP and the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) wrested assembly seats from the Congress in Gujarat and Telangana respectively. In Jharkhand, the BJP and the Congress retained the Godda and Panki Assembly seats respectively where bypolls were held on May 16.

In Gujarat, BJP candidate Govind Parmar won the by-election to Talala Assembly constituency in  Gir-Somnath district by defeating Congress candidate Bhagwanji Barad by over 2,000 votes. Gujarat BJP president Vijay Rupani claimed the win was an indication that the party will win the 2017 Assembly polls in the state

In Telangana, the ruling TRS continued its winning spree as its candidate Tummala Nageswara Rao won the Palair Assembly bypoll by a margin of 45,682 votes and wrested the seat from Congress. Rao, MLC and Roads and Buildings Minister, secured 94,940 votes while defeating the main opposition Congress nominee Sucharita Reddy (49,258 votes), who was supported by the TDP and YSRCP.

In Jharkhand, BJP's Amit Mandal defeated RJD’s Sanjay Yadav by 34,551 votes to win the Godda seat, election officials said. From Panki, Congress’s Devendra Kumar Singh defeated JMM candidate Kushwaha Shashibhusan Mehta by 3,558 votes, Returning Officer Albert Bilung said.

The Election Commission had earlier, deferred the by-polls in Anantnag Assembly seat in Jammu and Kashmir and Kanubari seat in Arunachal Pradesh.

It postponed the by-poll to Anantnag seat after the Mehbooba Mufti-led J and K  Government raised concerns about the law and order situation.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)