Council elections:  All nominations found in order

Council elections:  All nominations found in order

The nominations of all the 19 candidates in the fray for the election to the State Legislative Council from South Graduates constituency are found to be in order.

Regional Commissioner A M Kunjappa, also returning officer for the elections, vetted into the nominations during the scrutiny held at his office on Tuesday.

Sources told DH, barring the nomination paper of Congress candidate Dr H N Ravindra, that was objected by independent candidate Y S Siddaraju, considered as Congress rebel, there were no queries against the candidates.

Siddaraju wanted the returning officer to reject Dr Ravindra’s papers citing a pending probe initiated by Lokayukta. However, no incriminating materials were found in the reasons pointed out by Siddaraju, to find fault with Dr Ravindra’s papers.

So, the list of candidates is: M V Ravishankar (BJP), Dr H N Ravindra (Congress), K T Srikantegowda and Ravichandre Gowda (JD(S)), H K Krishna (Karunada Party), K P Chidanand (Samajwadi Party), Nagabushan Aradhya (Samajwadi Janata Party), Vatal Nagaraj (Kannada Chaluvali Vatal Paksha), independents Dr Krishnamurthy Chamaram, R K Govil, K S Bhagwan, H N Manjegowda, G N Manju, P S Yadurappa, Ravishankar M N, S Rajeev, G S Vishwanath, N Veerabhadra Swamy and Y S Siddaraju.

The last date to withdraw nominations is May 26, before 3 pm, according to a release from the regional commissioner’s office.