Government will popularise adventure sports: Minister

National surfing fest off to a rousing start at Sasihithlu Beach

Minister for Tourism and Medium and Large Industries R V Deshpande said Karnataka has a large scope for surfing and the state government will take more measures to encourage adventure events, such as surfing by developing beaches.

He was speaking after inaugurating the three-day All Cargo Indian Open Of Surfing Karnataka Surfing Festival at Sasihithlu Beach near Haleyangadi on Friday.

He said the Union government has provided Rs 93 crore for beach development. Selected beaches will be developed through the funds in the state  and urged the Centre to relax CRZ regulation so that beach development can be carried out in an effective way by the state government.

He directed the district administration to fix a day so that the surfing event will be held on that particular day every year.

Minister for Youth Empowerment, Sports and Fisheries K Abhayachandra Jain said Sasihithlu Beach, in the limits of Haleyangadi Gram Panchayat, will be developed.

The Department of Sports will take measures to popularise adventure sports. The chief minister has reserved Rs 1 crore in the budget for the purpose, he said.

District In-charge Minister B Ramanath Rai, Mangaluru North MLA B A Mohiyuddin Bava,  Deputy Commissioner A B Ibrahim, Zilla Panchayat CEO P I Srividya and City Police Commissioner M Chandra Sekhar, SP Bhushan G Borase, Zilla Panchayat Vice President Kasturi Panja and KCCI President Rammohan Pai Maroor were present.

The event was held in Indian National Championship, International Participants and Stand Up Paddle Race Championship categories. Different sub-categories are Under 16, Junior Boys 17-22, Seniors 22-28, Masters 28 years and above in the national championship, foreign men’s open for international participants and men’s and women’s open in stand-up paddle race categories. The surfing festival will be held till May 29.

Juniors - 17 To 22 - Local: Ajith Kumar, Ragul Govind, Venkta Gouda, Ramesh Visvanan, Surya P and Sathish S have directly advanced to round three after winning first positions in the first round from various heats. Qualifiers from second round are yet to be declared.

Masters - 29 And Above  - Local: Velu, Sandeep Samuel and Santhosh Moorthy were qaulified to the semifinals being the first position holders from various heats in round one.

Moorthy Megavan, Edy Rodrigues and Partha Varanasi - first second and third position holders in the round two, have also advanced to semifinals.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0