17 inspectors shifted from Lokayukta, no replacements yet

17 inspectors shifted from Lokayukta, no replacements yet

After withdawing the police station powers of the Lokayukta police, the government has transferred 17 police inspectors from there, without appointing officers to replace them. The office of the Lokayukta has declined to relieve these officials as none has been appointed to their posts.

Sources said all the police inspectors transferred have completed a two-year deputation in the Lokayukta. The High Court had issued guidelines to the Lokayukta police on the investigation and the postings.

“A bench of Justice Venugopala Gowda had directed the government to fill the vacancies first. The Lokayukta police are severely short-staffed. The court had directed the state to send a list of officers proposed to be posted to the Lokayukta before issuing transfer orders. The substitution of officers is important as the bench has also directed the Lokayukta police to complete the investigation of pending cases by August 31,” a senior official said.

The police inspectors who have got the transfer orders are now in a spot as the postings they have received may stand cancelled if they do not assume charge within a week.

Around 15 days ago, the government transferred Ballari Lokayukta SP Shiva Kumar and he was relieved immediately. Last week, Dharwad Lokayukta SP Yashoda was also transferred along with the 17 police inspectors.

Sources in the office of the registrar said that ADGP Lokayukta Dr S Parashiva Murthy has not written to the Home department, seeking substitution. Unless the officers are posted to the Lokayukta, those transferred will not be relieved, the sources said.

HC direction
“The High Court direction in this regard will be brought to the notice of the ADGP. The Lokayukta police chief will have to ensure that there are sufficient officers to continue the investigation of pending cases,” an official said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)