KPL 5 to kick-start on September 16

KPL 5 to kick-start on September 16

Players' auction to be held on August 10

KPL 5 to kick-start on September 16

The fifth edition of the Karnataka Premier League will be held from September 16 to October 1 in Hubballi and Mysuru, the Karnataka State Cricket Association announced here on Friday.

The first phase of the league will be played at the SDNRW stadium in Mysuru from September 16 to 22. The second phase, which will include the semifinals and final, will be held at the Rajnagar stadium in Hubballi from September 24 to October 1.
Bijapur Bulls are the defending champions of the eight-team league.

The players auction of the eight-team league will be held on August 10 and each franchise will be allowed to retain four players.

“Many talents that emerged from the KPL have gone on to play in the Indian Premier League. Last year, Shivil Kaushik of Hubli Tigers was a big success. He made it to the IPL following his consistent performances in the KPL. We aim to produce more players who are mentally tough and highly confident,” said KSCA Secretary Brijesh Patel.

Brijesh added that the prize money and KSCA’s contribution to the league will remain the same as last year.  Rockstars, a celebrity team led by Kannada movie star Sudeep, will also be allowed to pick professional players in the auction. In the previous edition, former Indian players such as Sunil Joshi, Venkatesh Prasad and David Johnson were part of the Rockstars team.  

KSCA spokesperson Vinay Mruthyunjaya said that Sony Six, the official broadcast partner of the KPL last season hasn’t confirmed on telecasting the matches this season but talks are on to finalise the deal. “They have been supporting the league consistently and talks are on to finalise the deal. We should be able to finalise the deal soon,” said Vinay.

Vinay added that the KPL will be telecast on SuperSport channel in South Africa and Willow TV in the US.  

KSCA President PR Ashok Anand said that due to possible threat of rain, Mangaluru and Shivamogga have not been considered as venues for the league.

 The KSCA unveiled a new KPL logo and announced that fans at both the venues will receive free WIFI facility.

Legendary Indian batsman GR Viswanath was felicitated during the event.