Cong loses G'barga mayoralty to BJP

The jolt is significant as the party has enough numbers in the Council and is commanded in the district by heavyweights such as former Chief Minister Dharam Singh, Union Labour Minister Mallikarjun Kharge and former minister Qamarul Islam. Sunanda Rajaram of BJP was declared elected Mayor and Syed Sajjad Ali, an independent, was declared elected Deputy Mayor, polling 25 votes each. Amid the unprecedented drama of the outgoing Mayor, Deputy Mayor and the chairmen of standing committees refusing to preside over the voting and the Congress members boycotting it, senior BJP corporator K B Vinod acted as the presiding officer and conducted the election meeting.

The plan of the Congress to create a crisis and legal vacuum to foil the meeting did not materialise as the Commissioner said any senior member can preside over to conduct the meeting. Of the 60 members, 41 had signed the register and only 25 attended the voting. 21 of BJP, one BSP, one Congress, and two independents participated in the voting.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)